Apr 02, 2014, 11:37 AM
Thread OP
Build Log

Hostetler's Cessna 170B

Hi folks! Been lurking on the site for the past few months, and finally wanted to join and introduce myself.

I've been building for 30 years, mostly slope soaring gliders as I could never afford powered planes when I was young. I started out building a CG Gentle Lady for my first model when I was a kid and finally progressed to large 3 meter sailplanes by the time I was done.

I've been flying all the bind N fly models that have come out and they just don't do it for me. With nothing but charging the battery out of the box, I have little respect for these planes and always start doing risky maneuvers (inverted low passes, etc...) until they finally crash. I never get really heart broken because they were so cheap and I didn't really invest in them emotionally.

So I was inspired by the stunning build thread here on the Hostetler Cessna 195 and finally started building my own Hostetler Cessna 170B.

We have had a 1955 Cessna 170B in our family for 20 years. It's been a faithful airplane, and I'm building this model as a homage to our full scale plane.

I originally had a build thread going on our Cessna 170 Association forum, but I think I will get more advice/help here when and if I run into obstacles. This is the first time I will have to glass the sheeting so I'll definitely be asking lots of questions.

Here's a picture of the subject, my trusty 1955 Cessna 170B.
Last edited by Aryana; Apr 02, 2014 at 05:45 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Apr 02, 2014, 11:45 AM
Thread OP
Ordered my laser cut kit from National Balsa. Very good quality. There were a couple pieces broken when the kit arrived, but they promptly sent replacements.

If you want to see my original build thread on The International Cessna 170 Association forum, you can view it here.
Apr 02, 2014, 11:51 AM
Thread OP