DH-2 36"Wingspan e powered - RC Groups
Mar 23, 2014, 12:41 PM
Model Maniac
Build Log

DH-2 36"Wingspan e powered

I have been wanting to build one of these for some time now. I was a little burned out with the Electra. So in mid January armed with a 3 view drawing and a 1/48 scale plastic model I started drawing up some plans. It is a 36" wing span and is set up with a Eflite .010 for now. I think the motor might be a bit large, but that can change as I build more of it. It's the most complicated model I have ever built. All the controls will be cable actuated.
Here is a PDF of a side view. Plus a couple pictures of what I have done so far, will post more by the weekend.
Last edited by Ibinde; Mar 23, 2014 at 01:03 PM. Reason: add picts
to remove ads between posts
Mar 23, 2014, 07:43 PM
So far so good! The DH-2 is one of my 'faves'!
Mar 23, 2014, 08:24 PM
Model Maniac

Landing Gear

Built the landing gear today. used .063 wire, with 1/16 balsa core and plywood skins. Used spider wire to lace it to the fuse. I made the wheels last month from 3/32 balsa, with hub caps cut from manila folder. There kinda ugly , but I like them. I will modify the program to make them more pointy. Here is a few pictures.
This prototype will have lots of changes made to it as I build. What may look good on screen sometimes does not translate well to hard part. Stay tuned more to follow.
Mar 26, 2014, 01:21 PM
Model Maniac

Center struts and wing incidence, Rudder

Made the center struts and set upper wing incidence. Struts made from spruce. The wing is set at 1.5 degrees, in fact lower wing is set at that too.

Built rudder and Horizontal stab in the sandwich style. I plan to cover them with Coverlite . Looks to be a good covering material for this plane. Have never used it before We will see how it turns out.
The motor cover is cut from 1/32 ply. Making it bolt on so I can get to the motor area if needed. I'm still concerned about the motor size it seams very heavy.