Mar 15, 2014, 01:49 PM
Thread OP
Help!

Walkera Devo 7 help

Hello. I'm somewhat new to R/C, I don't need help flying, I've got that down. My helicopter came with a walkera devo 7 controller. I thought i could just get used to it and learn what it does and so on. I dont have any clue what the switches along the top (HOLD, TRN, GEAR, MIX, D/R, FMD, etc) do though, I've looked online and found nothing. If someone could help me out and tell me what all these do that would be AWESOME! Thanks in advance.
to remove ads between posts
Mar 15, 2014, 02:16 PM
Cranky old fart
I had a Devo 7 and Walkera terminology seemed pretty foreign and it was difficult to program. But, here's what I remember.

Hold = throttle hold, to kill the throttle... used on CP.
Trn = training, to connect to a sim or another transmitter
Gear = spare channel for landing gear or whatever
Mix = ???
D/R = dual rates, changes how controls respond
FMD = ???
Mar 15, 2014, 04:02 PM
I'm not 100% certain, but I think "FMD" is Walkera's Stunt mode (Idle up).

Had a Devo 7 for a very short period and ended up getting rid because of the odd UI.
Mar 15, 2014, 08:13 PM
The hold and trainer are on the same switch. It may seem odd tho, that you need to hold the trainer switch to give control to the slave and yet the next position after it is throttle hold. However, if you let your finger slide off the trainer and let it snap back into place (like you usually do when you need to take back control ASAP), it will always go right past throttle hold and into normal mode.

The GEAR and AUX2 are on the same channel. You can only pick one or the other. So if the accessory you want to put on your model is either a servo or an on off switch, it'll work fine.