Thread Tools
Old Mar 14, 2014, 11:55 AM
simibill is offline
Find More Posts by simibill
General Factotum
simibill's Avatar
Discussion

Parkzone Artizan


I purchased the PNP version which includes the Spektrum AR635 Rx. In doing the setup, I noticed that the ailerons need to be reversed. This bothers me because this implies that there has been no testing of the system at the factory and that setting of the gain for the ailerons is backwards. Has anyone else encountered this problem?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 14, 2014, 01:15 PM
bobly is offline
Find More Posts by bobly
Registered User
They didn't have your transmitter at the factory to match the direction up with. That's why transmitters have the provision to reverse throws. It's simply luck of the draw whether they need to be reversed or not. Also notice you put this in the 3d foam forum which doesn't bother me at all, but This is not a 3d plane, but hopefully you were not wanting a 3d plane when you bought it.
Old Mar 14, 2014, 01:27 PM
simibill is offline
Find More Posts by simibill
General Factotum
simibill's Avatar
Obviously the factory doesn't have MY transmitter, but I believe all Spektrum transmitters would need to have ailerons reversed to operate correctly, and therefor not be correct for AR635 gain settings.
Old Mar 14, 2014, 01:30 PM
bobly is offline
Find More Posts by bobly
Registered User
Nope - reverse or not is luck of the draw - no way to tell from one plane to the next or one tx to the next.
Old Mar 14, 2014, 01:33 PM
simibill is offline
Find More Posts by simibill
General Factotum
simibill's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobly View Post
Nope - reverse or not is luck of the draw - no way to tell from one plane to the next or one tx to the next.
That makes no sense to me.
Old Mar 14, 2014, 01:41 PM
pda4you is offline
Find More Posts by pda4you
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
I don't think any company does a check of every single model on the line, this airplane would be no different. Reverse or not is linkage dependent so just flip it to reverse and go.

That is why I do testing of all components with a servo tester on the ground.

Mike
Old Mar 14, 2014, 02:36 PM
bobly is offline
Find More Posts by bobly
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by simibill View Post
Obviously the factory doesn't have MY transmitter, but I believe all Spektrum transmitters would need to have ailerons reversed to operate correctly, and therefor not be correct for AR635 gain settings.
Might or might not have a problem with as3x actions being reversed. But manual clearly stresses that you MUST check this out before flying. It's part of every preflight with as3x. Remember, you've got something in your plane that is designed to move the control surfaces based on its own logic and decision, in addition to what instructions it receives from the transmitter.
Old Mar 14, 2014, 05:54 PM
imagamejunky is offline
Find More Posts by imagamejunky
CA Bay Area full grown KID
Simibill. Be SURE to check the correction directions pre flight. Page 10 in the manual for the 635 gives instructions for entering the gain adjustments based on standard vs reversed servos. Yours will be center on left stick and bottom left on right stick assuming youre in mode 2. One part that was confusing to me that I did not see in the manual is the fact that the gain will have to be NEGATIVE for any reversed servos. This was the case with my yak. Hopefully this helps you.
Junky
Old Mar 14, 2014, 06:06 PM
simibill is offline
Find More Posts by simibill
General Factotum
simibill's Avatar
Thanks for the info. I'm really disappointed that a PNP as3x airplane needs to have gain settings reversed.
Old Mar 14, 2014, 07:22 PM
bobly is offline
Find More Posts by bobly
Registered User
PNP does not come with a receiver - you put your own in. Only BNF comes with a receiver.
Old Mar 14, 2014, 07:29 PM
simibill is offline
Find More Posts by simibill
General Factotum
simibill's Avatar
Yes, I misspoke. I have the BNF version..
Old Mar 14, 2014, 07:46 PM
lv2soar is offline
Find More Posts by lv2soar
Registered User
Hey Simimbill
Are you a new flyer?
Old Mar 14, 2014, 07:49 PM
simibill is offline
Find More Posts by simibill
General Factotum
simibill's Avatar
No. Why do you ask?
Old Mar 14, 2014, 07:54 PM
1101 is offline
Find More Posts by 1101
Registered User
You didnt buy this with the transmitter bundle, so why did you think that you wouldn't need to do some of the most BASIC setup on it ??
Old Mar 14, 2014, 08:00 PM
simibill is offline
Find More Posts by simibill
General Factotum
simibill's Avatar
BNF does not include a transmitter. So I expected the setup to not require anything except the normal check of control movement and setting the travel and expo according to the manual.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Parkzone ArtiZan with AS3X Aerobatic's Plane ChuckTseeker Sport Planes 1737 Nov 26, 2016 07:29 PM
Cool NEW Parkzone ArtiZan with AS3X Aerobat Red Flyer Parkflyers 203 Oct 24, 2015 10:19 PM
Discussion PZ Artizan & Eflite UMX Radian & EFlite Allusive Vapor Trails Atlanta Area RC 7 Jan 29, 2014 09:08 PM
Alert Parkzone ArtiZan with AS3X Aerobatic's Plane ChuckTseeker Electric Plane Talk 0 Jan 29, 2014 02:07 AM
For Sale Parkzone mossquito bnf, parkzone micro citabria bnf, hobbyzone champ all for $150 um nut Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Nov 07, 2013 01:51 AM