New addition to my "Kyosho family", a Turbo Optima, getting it ready to run again. - RC Groups
Feb 16, 2014, 02:46 PM
Fan of just about anything RC
Build Log

New addition to my "Kyosho family", a Turbo Optima, getting it ready to run again.

So, while working on some Optima Mids lately, in various varieties, I kept wondering how it would be to drive the car that started it all, the first generation Optima. I remember looking over Kyosho catalogs back in the days I was about 12 or so, and staring at the Optima and Turbo Optima pages. So whenever I was on eBay and other vendor sites lately, looking for Mid parts, I would also look at the classic Optimas on sale. Often too expensive, incomplete, seller not shipping to my country, and other pitfalls. Until I found an apparently well cared for one, not overly cheap, but value for money.

But enough talking, let's see how it looked when I go it.

Complete package:

Just the car, with body:

And without body:

I am no expert when it comes to this car, as it's my first classic Optima I've ever laid my hands on, but as far as I can see, the first impression is pretty good. The body shell has a few cracks, and some small chips of paint missing, but overall looks still very good for it's age, and will certainly be usable for running. And since the metallic blue tone works well with the decals and white wheels, it probably will even look good on the shelf. On one picture of the chassis, showing the steering assy, a plate near the bell cranks is only secured on one side, that can't be good, but the car feels solid, and the frame, despite being slender with those long gurders, is actually very stiff.

When pushing the car over the ground, some grinding noises could be heard, that will be te first to look into. Depending on what I encounter, I will decide whether to do a complete teardown, or just fix the issues I encounter, considering how well the car seems to be put together.

Update 16 feb 1014: