Feb 06, 2014, 03:05 AM
Build Log

Hi :) I'm new lol I need some Help.... MQ 9 REAPER Foam Plane

so i just joined this site in seek of help and I'll probably do a build log with this site lol,

I'm just a newbie, i just got into DIY Planes, i've had several Air hogs and ect but I wanted to do something bigger you know? something better? after hours on youtube and reading I finally picked a plane out of several i had in mind...

The MQ-9 reaper UAV

And here's another weird thing i decided to do after watching vids on MASSIVE foamies... Honestly I was doubtful that my plan was going to work... But i decided to do a close 1:5 Scale Of the reaper....

I've already got the Foam, and i started cutting and Smoothening out and everything...

I lost hope and thought this won't ever work.... but then i saw this..

RC F22 Raptor Home made foamy 11-14-2011 (5 min 34 sec)

so i regained hope.... o.o

Now The big question is.. since im making a close scale

I was thinking of finding a 3 blade propeller around 13 inches... but the only one i could find was a 16" one..
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...407x204mm.html

Now two things struck my mind I want to make it scaley and realistic.

Also what are the differences between 4 blade propellers 3 blade and 2 blade?

I also need help on picking an Electric motor, since this whole thing is being made out of foam.... Wingspan Is Close to 100 inches...
I scaled everything via Microsoft Excell from Reaper Blueprints...

So I Come seeking Help....

What Motor do I use?
What propellor?
What servos?
What battery?
Reciever?
Transmitter? (i want to fly far)

How can i smooth out foam?

Would gorilla glue work ?

Also The wingspan is massive so what method can i use to make removable wings?
to remove ads between posts
Feb 06, 2014, 03:55 AM
sorry for the bad image quality rooms a bit messy from foam cutting lol This is what i have so far.Name: picture002.jpg
Views: 54
Size: 75.9 KB
Description: Name: picture001.jpg
Views: 60