Mar 14, 2004, 09:55 AM
Thread OP

Another Lipo Fire -- Etech cells

I have been using lipos for over two years and am very careful about setting the charger up correctly (learned that the hard way a year ago), but yesterday I was charging some 3 cell Etech packs--here is the description of what happened from an email I sent to my flying buddies:

One other thing--I found out first hand about Lipoly fires. Was charging my 3 cell packs of Etechs -- the Kokam chargers were set properly (11 volts, 1 Amp). Plugged them in correctly and they were charging fine and watched them for about 20 minutes. Went in the house to answer the phone. Came back out and one had already burned --was sitting on the workbench and there was black **** everywhere--must have exploded. Burned the surface of my workbench and some papers nearby--can't figure why it exploded unles it was unbalanced--although I had only used that pack about 8-10 times. No significant damage -- just a mess to clean up. Learned a cheap lesson--I do have one of those fireproof boxes (safe) that I haven't used yet. You can bet I will in the future. Kinda scary.

Pat Daily
to remove ads between posts
Mar 14, 2004, 10:35 AM
Pat, thank you for sharing this. It's a perfect case of Murphy's Law that it would "wait to happen" until you went to answer the phone! You are obviously a safety-conscious person since you had already bought one of the fire-resistant boxes. I'm very glad that your loss was minimal compared to what it could have been.
Mar 14, 2004, 10:50 AM
Giddy up!
Pat,

Thanks for sharing and glad to hear you were doing this outside. I have to admit I'm aware of the dangers but I've still been charging indoors (basement) and sometimes I go upstairs after starting the charger. Sounds like you did everything right and yet you still had a fire. Things are going to change from this point on for me, I'm going out to get a fireproof safe today...
Mar 14, 2004, 10:58 AM