Jan 27, 2014, 08:41 PM
Thread OP
Question

Charging 1S Li-Po with USB Charger and USB Power Bank

I have both the Hubsan X-4 and the Blade Nano QX, and I use the default USB chargers that they came with. I was wondering, if I wanted to use a USB power bank (like this one maybe https://www.groupon.com/deals/gg-urg...attery-charger ), would I have to find one that has the same voltage and mA ratings that is on my charger, or will the charger only accept that much power? Sorry for the newbie question, but I am still learning and I couldn't find any similar questions using the search function.

Thanks,
Max
to remove ads between posts
Jan 28, 2014, 05:53 AM
ancora imparo
That should work fine. The Hubsan charger just expects 5V at its input (USB voltage). It does all the rest to manage the charge current and voltage termination of the battery. The Hubsans use a 300mAh 3.7V cell and any normal USB outlet (including this device) will have enough capacity to run the charger properly.

You can also plug the charger into a car 12V USB adapter - the sort that are used to charge iPhones and the like. Very handy at the field - if you own a car of course.
Jan 28, 2014, 11:02 AM
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj604
That should work fine. The Hubsan charger just expects 5V at its input (USB voltage). It does all the rest to manage the charge current and voltage termination of the battery. The Hubsans use a 300mAh 3.7V cell and any normal USB outlet (including this device) will have enough capacity to run the charger properly.

You can also plug the charger into a car 12V USB adapter - the sort that are used to charge iPhones and the like. Very handy at the field - if you own a car of course.
Thanks! Still a couple years till I can get one of those and use it legally, but the power bank will come in handy!
Thanks again,
Max
Jan 28, 2014, 05:18 PM
ancora imparo
Max, I just found some FAQ's on this device.