Jan 17, 2014, 05:19 PM
M Seid
Thread OP
Build Log

Super Freak NXT - A right, proper, thread about a the newest Tom Siler Model Airplane

Tom sent me over a new NXT. I picked it up last nite. I have one day to build it, and Im just getting started. I assure you, it will be launched in round 1, heat 1 tomorrow morning. What a complete kit. Ill post some pictures as I get started... Stay tuned.
Last edited by M Seid; Jan 28, 2014 at 10:42 PM. Reason: for seriousness and stuff like that
to remove ads between posts
Jan 17, 2014, 05:29 PM
Just an earth-bound misfit, I
Very Cool...... Can't wait to see pics.... Good luck at the JEM.
Jan 17, 2014, 05:47 PM
Very cool M Seid you guys are going to kick but with that airplane.I bet the Snipes are scaaared lol.Go gerimmm
Jan 17, 2014, 06:50 PM
Yikes! Can't wait to see it Mike!
Good luck on "Round 1"
Kevin
Jan 17, 2014, 07:52 PM
Barney Fife, Vigilante
So a bit of history on Mike's NXT. It's the number one pull from the molds. The wings were pulled separately (right and left) then joined outside the mold so I could see how the molds closed / aligned etc. The fuse is also the first pull. The canopy… first pull… tail mount…. first pull… tails… first pull. The only thing that was NOT a first pull was the throwing blade.

I've never let the #1 parts out of my shop before but we had a deadline and Mike needed that ship. Cosmetically she's probably not my best work but she's not bad.

Weights were (from memory)

Wing - 109g before joining
Fuse - 39g with slip nose
Tail mount - 1.3g and substantially over built
Tails - 14.2g and (again) substantially over built

I'm betting that Mike puts this one in the air at around 250g, which was the design weight. According to XFLR5, it should be happy being built as light as 230g.