This thread is privately moderated by jameschen072, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Jan 08, 2014, 08:45 PM
kiwi power!
Thread OP
Mini-Review

The FMS 800mm V-Tail Trainer review

The FMS 800mm V-Tail (Trainer/Parkflyer) review

Introduction
Hey guys,
Do you remember what your first trainer aircraft is/was? For me, it was a REALLY ugly 2 channel HiTEC Sky Scooter that was patched up in so many places that I swore it had more epoxy/tape than foam.

A decade later, boy has technology changed the game. T-mart sent me the star of our review today, the V-Tail. In this review, I would like to give you my honest and unbiased opinion on this aircraft, concluding with whether or not I think this aircraft is good for the absolute beginner.

Before we begin, I would like to thank T-mart for providing the sample and agreeing to an unbiased review. Their support is much appreciated.

From The Box
The aircraft came well protected in the Styrofoam box

Included is the following:
1x 2.4GHz 4 channel transmitter
1x 800mm V-tail glider
1x Linkage set (packaged with glue and a spare wing bolt)
1x 7.4V 350mAh 15c Lipo
1x charger (no adapter though!)

If I was a beginner with no gear of my own, I think Iíd be quite annoyed by the lack of an adapter for the charger. Iím not sure if it was missing on mine because someone at Tmart took it out and forgot to put it back inÖ or if it comes from the factory like that; Either way, itís definitely something they really should look into.

From The Cockpit

The transmitter is a small, 4 channel unit that seems to be a clone of the HiSKY transmitters FMS uses for their larger aircraft. It is a basic unit with slider trims, dual rates on all 4 channels, a switch that goes between modes 1 and 2, and a delta mix mode. It takes 4x AA batteries.