Jan 07, 2014, 05:06 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

How to cut out balsa from plans

I'm new to balsa building, having just completed one kit from AerodromeRC.
I recently purchased some plans from AerodromeRC, right after Kay announced it was closing. They include a sheet of peices to assemble. In my first kit, the parts were conveniently laser cut out for me to assemble. Now, I am trying to sort out how to cut them out myself.
I have vague - 40 year plus - memories of sitting beside my father while he traced plans onto sheets and cut them out. I remember most clearly that I was not very good at doing it. I was wondering if there was a tutorial for how to accomplish this. An internet search has failed to reveal much help.
to remove ads between posts
Jan 07, 2014, 05:22 PM
I have not done this but i plan on making a scratch balsa build after my current and i was going to use some stuff called "see temp". You cut it over the plans and use the created templates to make the pieces.
Jan 07, 2014, 06:12 PM
Lots or ways to accomplish this. One way is to make photocopies of the planes, cut the paper parts out and glue them to the balsa. Cheap glue sticks work well or spray glue. Then use an exacto and cut them out.
Jan 07, 2014, 09:29 PM
Neophyte hacker
A lot of WWI planes have ribs that are almost all the same. Make a ply template and use it to cut out the ribs, make spar notches and any holes you need. The ones located in front of ailerons you just slice them off at the proper point. Doesn't take long to cut 93 of the suckers for a SPAD XIII.

charlie
Jan 08, 2014, 01:22 AM
Yep, if you can make a copy of the plan, cut the parts out of paper and decide how you want to lay them on the balsa (minding grain direction and trying not to waste too much balsa).

I use Super 77 spray adhesive to attach to balsa (just spray the back of the paper — and lightly, a little goes a long way).

Then cut along the lines.