Thread Tools
Old Jan 04, 2014, 10:58 PM
dirtrider2002 is offline
Find More Posts by dirtrider2002
Registered User
Discussion

flyguy 96


So I decided to upscale the flyguy 62 plans to make a more than lifesize version. Overall length is a little over 96 inches, putting him at just over 8 ft tall! Just mounted the motor and servos tonight, and hoping to get the wiring done tomorrow afternoon. Hopefully he will fly haha, but i think he will look awesome in the air if all gpes well.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 04, 2014, 11:13 PM
dirtrider2002 is offline
Find More Posts by dirtrider2002
Registered User
pic with the motor and servos mounted
Old Jan 05, 2014, 03:49 AM
ttersu is offline
Find More Posts by ttersu
All can fly...Launch stronger!
ttersu's Avatar
Wow, Nice

How are you going to paint it?
Old Jan 05, 2014, 06:46 AM
dirtrider2002 is offline
Find More Posts by dirtrider2002
Registered User
Haven't decided on the paint yet, I want to try and get it up in the air first haha.
Old Jan 05, 2014, 07:34 AM
ttersu is offline
Find More Posts by ttersu
All can fly...Launch stronger!
ttersu's Avatar
Might be a good idea!
Old Jan 05, 2014, 10:24 AM
birdofplay is online now
Find More Posts by birdofplay
Retired CAD guy
birdofplay's Avatar
WOW 8' that'll BE IMPRESSIVE.

Did you simply Scale the original ?

What material did you use ?
Scaling would make the slots and tabs larger so 9mm depron might work without
any adjustment.

96 / 62 = 1.54 to that's just about right for 9mm use. (mm seemns much stronger than 6mm.
I have used it in upscaled propinslot jets lately. Mig-29 and F-22 and F-15

Please Post your build and progress and equipment used if you can.

Bob
Hoosier Cutout Service
Old Jan 05, 2014, 10:37 AM
ttersu is offline
Find More Posts by ttersu
All can fly...Launch stronger!
ttersu's Avatar
+1 for the Logs! Like this I should be able to build a Flying Super-Daddy for his Birthday
Old Jan 05, 2014, 10:40 AM
dirtrider2002 is offline
Find More Posts by dirtrider2002
Registered User
I bought 2 4'x8' sheets of the r max foam from lowes, 1/2" thick. I put the fly guy 62 plans into autocad and scaled them up. Had to adjust a few things here and there to keep the slots and tabs correct. Going to the hobby shop this afternoon to pick up some carbon fiber to reinforce a few places. I'll get more pics and info up this evening.
Old Jan 05, 2014, 10:49 AM
ttersu is offline
Find More Posts by ttersu
All can fly...Launch stronger!
ttersu's Avatar
Ok, We are waiting for you!
Old Jan 05, 2014, 02:33 PM
birdofplay is online now
Find More Posts by birdofplay
Retired CAD guy
birdofplay's Avatar
The only reason I don't use r-max is that is has that low temp plastic skin.
I cut everything on my CNC and the low temp stuff "melts" on my bit
and builds up and ruins the edges.

I switched to 1/2" OC foam then decided that it did not cut well with the new eco formulae.
so I am using 9mm depron now for new designs and converting some old ones
as appropriate.

r-max works good if it's hand cut and CF or wood supported as necessary.

Best

Bob
Hoosier Cutout Service
Old Jan 05, 2014, 03:05 PM
ewo is offline
ewo
Find More Posts by ewo
ewo
Registered User
ewo's Avatar
Hi Bob ....
Just out of curiosity ? What bits do you use?
and feedrate ? Im cutting with 1/16 and 1/8 , 1/4" endmill for pocketing .

ewo

edit here. Hows the weather there in indy ?
I have 7 " of heavy snow right now and the temps expected to drop to 13 below last i heard !
Old Jan 05, 2014, 03:40 PM
dirtrider2002 is offline
Find More Posts by dirtrider2002
Registered User
Yeah unfortunately all I have for cutting is my x-acto haha, so no problems there. But yeah, definitely will be adding bracing in where needed as the feet and arms have a good deal a flex in them with just the foam.
Old Jan 05, 2014, 04:01 PM
ewo is offline
ewo
Find More Posts by ewo
ewo
Registered User
ewo's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtrider2002 View Post
Yeah unfortunately all I have for cutting is my x-acto haha, so no problems there. But yeah, definitely will be adding bracing in where needed as the feet and arms have a good deal a flex in them with just the foam.
Sorry DR.
Just a little shop talk between friends.

Please carry on . looking forward to your maiden report !
Old Jan 05, 2014, 04:14 PM
birdofplay is online now
Find More Posts by birdofplay
Retired CAD guy
birdofplay's Avatar
EWO:

My Shopbot uses a 5 speed PC Router.
Mostly I use the lowest setting 10k

1/8" bit spiral upcut and 1ips or there abouts for my best looking edge.

The OC Foam seems to have a "grain" embedded in it and chips out the edges
across the 4' but no so much the 8' .
I take OFF the plastic covering both sides that it comes with as IT TOO is low temp and creates probs.

THE SNOW is HEAVY and THICK for now.
I have my diesel truck PLUGGED IN and my Generator at the ready..

I've done -20 F when I lived in Mich but it wasn't fun.

It's still pretty warm here FOR NOW !

Huncker Down for Mon and Tuesday !!!

Bob
Hoosier Cutout Service
Old Jan 05, 2014, 04:28 PM
ewo is offline
ewo
Find More Posts by ewo
ewo
Registered User
ewo's Avatar
Thanks Bob .
I have been cutting at 75 ipm . I think i need a new bit and also need to slow it down a little.
My inside and outside cuts are burnishing just a little bit.

Still pretty ok temps here now too but monday and tuesday will just kill this old man !


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Foamie Flyguy in 4 sizes Otto Dieffenbach Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 1668 Nov 24, 2016 08:57 AM
Build Log Build: Birdofplay 62" Flyguy Otto Dieffenbach Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 433 Oct 30, 2016 07:54 PM
Discussion 23" Indoor sized Flyguy Petefoss Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 2 Jan 27, 2014 02:14 PM