Thread Tools
Old Mar 04, 2004, 10:36 PM
Ralph_D is offline
Find More Posts by Ralph_D
Registered Boozer
Ralph_D's Avatar

Love my Hitec Eclipse 7 with the Spectra Module!


It rules! I set it up on my Slinger wing and I'm going to use the "land" feature, which is basically a switch I can hit to give me the necessary up elevator when I'm hand launching my wing and allow me to take it away when I'm at full flight speed.

I'm going to try it out tomorrow but I'm expecting the best!

The Eclipse 7 is a great bargain...lotta bang for the buck

-Ralph-
www.rcairborne.com
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 05, 2004, 12:02 AM
P-40 is offline
Find More Posts by P-40
Love them P-40's!
P-40's Avatar
Where did you get yours, Ralph. I have heard Servo City is a good place. I think they are $218 TX and Spectra module only form them.
Old Mar 05, 2004, 12:05 AM
Ralph_D is offline
Find More Posts by Ralph_D
Registered Boozer
Ralph_D's Avatar
Hobby People had a Presidents Day sale...$199 for just the tx with the Spectra Module. If you contact them they may give you that price

-Ralph-
Old Mar 05, 2004, 12:20 AM
uglyplane is offline
Find More Posts by uglyplane
Master ReKitter
uglyplane's Avatar
I have been enjoying my E7 w/Spectra for nigh on 2 years with nary a glitch. My most used radio of 6.
Old Mar 05, 2004, 12:49 AM
Phreakish is offline
Find More Posts by Phreakish
Nickel what?
Phreakish's Avatar
wish I could pic one up But I'd have to sell my prism to pay for it!
Old Mar 05, 2004, 01:32 AM
Ralph_D is offline
Find More Posts by Ralph_D
Registered Boozer
Ralph_D's Avatar
For $199 the thing has more features, mix combinations, options, etc. than I'll even think about using. And the computer is fairly simple to operate...after some trial and error and a couple friendly support calls to Hitec...their phone support is top notch!

I don't think I'll need another tx.

-Ralph-
Old Mar 05, 2004, 02:27 AM
Capgun_Slim is offline
Find More Posts by Capgun_Slim
Registered User
Capgun_Slim's Avatar
Is that a 9Z I see on the end? Or an 8U? Cool radios. I'm glad to hear that about the E7 as mine should be here tomarrow. I'm going to send it in to hitec to get the QPCM installed and software updated for 30.00. I figure that's a good deal.
Last edited by Capgun_Slim; Mar 05, 2004 at 02:30 AM.
Old Mar 05, 2004, 07:39 AM
Lone Yankee is offline
Find More Posts by Lone Yankee
Hiigaran member
Lone Yankee's Avatar
This thing is a joy. Every year at the club auction I know I can fly any plane there. Nice not having to worry about buying a new rx or xtal for each plane.
Old Mar 05, 2004, 08:09 AM
dottney is offline
Find More Posts by dottney
Registered User
dottney's Avatar
I'm considering buying another one as I have way more than 7 planes. This is the radio I use all the time. Great value and it can do more than I can do.
Dave
Old Mar 05, 2004, 09:26 AM
cadconversions is offline
Find More Posts by cadconversions
Around the World
cadconversions's Avatar
Hey, Ugly....

I like your channel 4 radio.. I've been wanting to get into the Tx trays. What kind are you using? Where do you get them at?

I would venture a guess that you like using them?

Kevin
Old Mar 05, 2004, 09:34 AM
Vipula AD is offline
Find More Posts by Vipula AD
Registered User
Vipula AD's Avatar
Love mine too, the only bad thing about that TX is its a power hog. Runs thru the Nicads in about 80-90 minutes. Solved that problem by buying an 8 cell AA holder from Radio Shack and putting some 2000mah NiMH cells. Now it give close to 5 hours of continuous operation (a full days worth of flying at the club).

Vipula.
Old Mar 05, 2004, 09:42 AM
Ralph_D is offline
Find More Posts by Ralph_D
Registered Boozer
Ralph_D's Avatar
Yea, it does suck the juice. I did the same thing...using a radio shack battery holder, and I bring a few spare nimh cells in my tool box just in case.

-Ralph-
Old Mar 05, 2004, 10:08 AM
kscbob1 is offline
Find More Posts by kscbob1
Semper Fi, Do or Die
kscbob1's Avatar
Vipula AD:

Does the 8 cell AA holder fit in the battery compartment? Did you solder a Hitec connector to the holder or are you using the holder externally?

TIA

Bob
Old Mar 05, 2004, 10:35 AM
van-S is offline
Find More Posts by van-S
I fly, therefore I crash
I read on the ezone about a good battery pack for the Eclipse which I picked up once I got the tx. Itís a AA 1800 NIMH pack from CPB for $26.00. I had them make me an 8 cell pack, with the Hitec connector and 16 or 22 gauge wire (canít remember which), configured in a 2x2 brick square.

I then replaced the connector with the one that matches the Eclipse. It would have been nice if it worked on the servo connector like Hitecís other transmitters, though. I charge it using a GWS plug Ėwatch the polarity!- and itís working great and the pack fits right into the tx. You can get the male plug at Maxx products, if you are concerned about charging.

While the Tx is set up to charge nicad cells, I do occasionally charge the NIMH with it and havenít had a problem, though I keep an eye on it and donít let it get too warm while charging.

CheapBatteryPacks

Tower Hobbies
Old Mar 05, 2004, 11:10 AM
rclark is offline
Find More Posts by rclark
A Clinger
rclark's Avatar
Yep, I like my Eclipse too. Only down side has been the 7 model memorys as I now have them all filled. Of course as my wife says "Who needs to have more than 7 planes ready to fly???" . She does have a point . So the planes I've mothballed, I just store the settings in the spreadsheet log file for that plane -- if I ever want to fly it again... Yes, I keep a log of each plane I fly.

I did the same as stated above and bought a 1800 square pack the same time I bought the radio.... Works great.

BTW I use that 'launch' and land feature too for my hand lauched Simple P-51 (now bungee) . Set some up elevator in the launch mode and as soon as it gets on step, I click the switch to 'normal' and we are off! Works great....
Last edited by rclark; Mar 05, 2004 at 11:12 AM.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Found hitec eclipse 7 (with spectra module) moosemanty Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Dec 28, 2006 09:13 PM
Sold Brand New HITEC Eclipse 7 With spectra module Chesie2 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Jul 08, 2005 09:21 PM
FS: Hitec Eclipse 7 with spectra module jakeg1999 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 5 Feb 04, 2005 06:36 PM
WTB Hitec Eclipse 7 With Spectra Module FiremanJoe Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Sep 01, 2004 10:06 PM
FS Hitec Eclipse 7 with Spectra Module mdttb Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Jul 05, 2004 03:55 PM