DJI BTU 4.0 problem - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Dec 19, 2013, 10:12 PM
Registered User
Discussion

DJI BTU 4.0 problem


Guys, received the Data Link with BTU today and I only get a Red LED on the BTU. I've upgraded firmware to the latest. Ipad of course can't see it in this state. Manual shows this as a problem. Any help?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Dec 23, 2013, 10:16 PM
Registered User
I'm having the same issue. I hope to get a new BTU from dealer to test soon. I Might try plugging BTU directly to Flight Controller to see what happens, but my guess is that it's a bad batch of BTU's.
Dec 24, 2013, 03:40 AM
The Ground is the Limit
Phantom604's Avatar
I decided to break open my IPAD GS. I bought it as a package that included the BTU 4.0 module , iosd mini, and a Canbus Hub. Anyways, assuming I didn't know what I was doing, I just spent 1.5 hours going over manuals!

I plug in the BTU unit to the GS and to the PMU V2 and there are NO LIGHTS whatsoever on the BTU. No red or green. I assume the LED is on its side? The Iphone Naza M assistant can't find the controller (I tried many times, and updated IOS). When I leave the BTU on the PMUV2 and connect to the Naza Assistant on the PC via USB, it sees a BTU unit but has a weird product ID. I think it was "?????????" or "YYYYYYYYYYY".

Anyways, do I have a faulty unit? I bought it over 2 months ago so hopefully there is some warranty etc. I sent a quick email to the retailer. THIS SUCKS.
Dec 31, 2013, 04:16 PM
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Wouterjansen60's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by waug
Guys, received the Data Link with BTU today and I only get a Red LED on the BTU. I've upgraded firmware to the latest. Ipad of course can't see it in this state. Manual shows this as a problem. Any help?
Same problem, solid red BTU, no clue how to proceed. All firmware is updated. IOS7 problem or is the BTU PC related instead of a iPad...

Wouter
Jan 01, 2014, 06:12 AM
Registered User
Same here. Purchased over the holidays and it's solid Red. Going through the DJI 2.4G Bluetooth DataLink Assistant_1.0.0.6, it sees the datalink and the btu unit, showing that the firmware is up to date.
Jan 01, 2014, 06:47 AM
click HERE 2 C my BLOG
eirlink's Avatar
Dji are aware of the BTU red light and will issue a firmware update soon, I'm reliably informed. I have the same issue and have raised the issue with them.

The GS for phantom 2 is due this month so the BTU issue will need to be resolved to support this.
Jan 01, 2014, 03:19 PM
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Wouterjansen60's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by eirlink
Dji are aware of the BTU red light and will issue a firmware update soon, I'm reliably informed. I have the same issue and have raised the issue with them.

The GS for phantom 2 is due this month so the BTU issue will need to be resolved to support this.
Eirlink,

Guess you spoke with Dr. Turbo from DJI or who? Unbelievable thst official DJI dealers still selling this feature without telling it wont work on P2 (yet)

PS, On the ground end, i do see one solid green led (left) and a blinking red led (right side), do you experiance that too, air end both green ( one solid, one blinking), so basically and referring the attachement, the ground end is working but only receiving packages...
Last edited by Wouterjansen60; Jan 09, 2014 at 09:13 PM.
Jan 09, 2014, 04:02 PM
Registered User
Any update to this yet? Don't want to keep waiting and go past 30 days and not have the ability to exchange this with my dealer.
Jan 09, 2014, 09:07 PM
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Wouterjansen60's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajafar
Any update to this yet? Don't want to keep waiting and go past 30 days and not have the ability to exchange this with my dealer.
Nothing at all.... I know the feeling!
Jan 11, 2014, 04:19 PM
Registered User
Same thing here. Here's a video I made to illustrate

2.4G Data Link Problem (1 min 42 sec)
Jan 11, 2014, 04:27 PM
Registered User
Here is what's in the documentation...
Jan 11, 2014, 05:18 PM
DJI Support - 107 Certified
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnadams
Same thing here. Here's a video I made to illustrate

https://vimeo.com/83933363
Shawn,

What iOS versions are you using on the 5 and the iPad mini. My iPad mini does connect but I have not upgraded it to iOS 7.xx. The iPhone is on iOS 7.0.4 the mini is on 6.22 I think.
Jan 11, 2014, 05:33 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoe Ed
Shawn,

What iOS versions are you using on the 5 and the iPad mini. My iPad mini does connect but I have not upgraded it to iOS 7.xx. The iPhone is on iOS 7.0.4 the mini is on 6.22 I think.
my mini is 7.0.4 andI have an iPad with v6 and v5. I can't even put GS on the old iPad, but I've tried them all.. I believe the light on the BTU should be green showing ready weather it's connected or not. Not just solid red..
Jan 11, 2014, 10:05 PM
DJI Support - 107 Certified
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnadams
my mini is 7.0.4 andI have an iPad with v6 and v5. I can't even put GS on the old iPad, but I've tried them all.. I believe the light on the BTU should be green showing ready weather it's connected or not. Not just solid red..
I will play with mine tomorrow while I watch the playoffs.
Jan 12, 2014, 12:40 PM
Registered User
northwoods's Avatar
New to this forum but my p2 GS has done same thing, red light, will call dealer tomorrow, saw one post elsewhere that said wrong can bus used but I think there is only one, right? I understand them to just daisy chain. The zenmuse and fpv work fine. Could gs work without the btu for iPad, and use gs computer based connected to the 2.4 gh Tx ? All the updates seemed to have loaded fine.


Thread Tools