Nov 27, 2013, 02:06 PM
Thread OP
Build Log

Aerodrome RC 46.7" Fokker Dr.1

My name is Chuck Bassani and I'm a contributing writer for RC Heli Pilot and Fly RC Magazines. Although I'm primarily involved with RC Helicopters, I did enjoy building kits way back when. It's been some time (probably 20+ years) since I've built one and thought it would be rather amuseing to publicly fumble through the process.

I just had happend to stumble across Frank Jaerschky's build thread regarding this very subject. His attention to detail and his extremely helpful instructional videos have given me the motivation I need to give it a shot. So I ordered up a short kit and - well - stay tuned ...
Last edited by cbflys; Dec 03, 2013 at 04:09 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Nov 27, 2013, 02:14 PM
Thread OP
I guess it's always a good idea to have an idea what you're shooting for, so for me it's this:
Nov 27, 2013, 02:39 PM
Cool, I love the WWI era planes and look forward to observing the work!
Nov 27, 2013, 02:49 PM
Thread OP
Here's the box - sure doesn't look like an airplane to me
Nov 27, 2013, 03:25 PM
Thread OP
For the most part (with a few exceptions) I'm going to be using Titebond Original Wood Glue for most of this build. I'm not a fan of using CA, it's like trying to sand a rock.

And we're off ...

Glued the two front fuse sides together. Titebond dries fairly good in about 45 minutes, but really takes about 24 hours to fully dry. So this build isn't going to go as fast as most of you are probably used to.

When working with laser cut wood, it's a good idea to use a damp paper towel to rub off as much of the burn residue as you can. Makes for a stronger joint.
Last edited by cbflys; Nov 27, 2013 at 06:49 PM.
Nov 27, 2013, 03:34 PM
Thread OP