Thread Tools
Nov 16, 2013, 05:49 AM
Registered User
Thread OP
Build Log

Ultimate LRS: Hassle-Free - Full Mavlink - 16 Channels. Fly More.


Fly More !

Full project description here : http://www.itluxembourg.lu/site/ultimate-lrs/
Last edited by flipflap; May 17, 2018 at 09:01 PM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 20, 2013, 09:37 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipflap
Hi,

I modified an OrangeRX 1 watt TX to be able to use it on the plane, and have a fully bidirectionnal 1W link for 2 x $28.45

And it works quite well with 232 packets lost on 100.090 (=0.2%)



Detailed description and step-by-step instructions to come...
While waiting for those instructions (), quick questions - using TX as RX, did you break out the channel pins by soldering to the ATMEGA328?
Nov 20, 2013, 11:40 AM
Registered User
Thread OP
I'm using just 3 connections : +, - and serial PPM out. For simplicity (and pin accessibility), the PPM out is on the same pin that is used for PPM in on the TX.

Serial PPM is then sent to APM, on which the servos are connected.

So it's very simple : two cables between APM and OLRS
-a cable for serial PPM
-a cable for telemetry data
Nov 20, 2013, 11:50 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipflap
I'm using just 3 connections : +, - and serial PPM out. For simplicity (and pin accessibility), the PPM out is on the same pin that is used for PPM in on the TX.

Serial PPM is then sent to APM, on which the servos are connected.

So it's very simple : two cables between APM and OLRS
-a cable for serial PPM
-a cable for telemetry data
Oh yeah - of course the PPMin is a free pin.
So no RX side RSSI to APM?
Nov 20, 2013, 12:55 PM
Registered User
Thread OP
I could output it on another accessible pin, for example on the "button" pin.
Nov 21, 2013, 02:47 AM
Registered User
shuricus's Avatar
Is it really 1W?

Did you check what is RFM23 power supply?
If it's 3.3V it's too far from 1W.
Nov 21, 2013, 04:02 AM
Registered User
Thread OP
Powered at 3.3v it gives 364 mW, powering the module at 5v gives about 600mW.
Nov 21, 2013, 06:47 AM
Registered User
shuricus's Avatar
I mean did you check how is it powered in futaba module?
Nov 21, 2013, 01:14 PM
Registered User
Thread OP
It's 3.3V
Nov 21, 2013, 01:53 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipflap
It's 3.3V
Why do the HK Futaba and JR Orange LRS 1W TXes specify that only 3.3v FTDI can be used?
I understand this for the 100mw models, with the RFM22s.
But what part of the 1W models is going to break if you apply 5v? Not the RFM23BP?
Last edited by nicnet; Nov 21, 2013 at 01:53 PM. Reason: clarification
Nov 21, 2013, 02:54 PM
Registered User
Thread OP
The RFM23BP needs 3.3V max on its communication pins.
Nov 21, 2013, 03:08 PM
Registered User
shuricus's Avatar
It actually works fine with 5V on communication ports in HawkEye.

But HK modules are not 1W as they declare. Much much less!
Nov 21, 2013, 04:08 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipflap
The RFM23BP needs 3.3V max on its communication pins.
So on the 1W HK modules, is the VCC to RFM23BP also 3.3?
If so, it should be easy enough to cut that track and apply 5v right? (like on your 100mw to 1W conversion?

Acknowledged that 1W in this case is at best 0.5W, likely less ...
Nov 21, 2013, 04:19 PM
Registered User
shuricus's Avatar
But you will need another voltage regulator for 5V.
Nov 21, 2013, 04:25 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by shuricus
But you will need another voltage regulator for 5V.
True, and also easy.


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools