Thread Tools
Nov 14, 2013, 01:33 AM
Registered User
Discussion

Spektrum DX9 issue (spirals in to the ground)


Hi

I have some problems with my DX9 setup.
Crashed a plane when using the new DX9 with an AR6210 2 weeks ago.
After about 20 seconds it did an uncontrolled dive in to the ground.
Because i suspected an defected servo i rebuild it and flown it yesterday with my old DX6i and theAR6210.
There where no problems with this setup, flew for about 15 minutes with no loss of controls.

After that i binded my new DX9 to this AR6210. Started and within 20 seconds it took a dive again. Tried to recover but could not get it out of the spiral dive.
luckely it leveled above the ground so only the nose was damaged.

So, I am stucked now.
Any advise
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 14, 2013, 06:16 AM
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Did you do any range test prior to flying? You could have rf issues that would show up in a range test.
Nov 14, 2013, 08:11 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip
Did you do any range test prior to flying? You could have rf issues that would show up in a range test.
Did a range test with the dx6i but not with the dx9i
Nov 14, 2013, 09:34 AM
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
sounds like power failure a strong possibility
Nov 15, 2013, 05:34 AM
Registered User
Fixed my plane and took is out today. Did the first run with the DX9 and the new AR10000. No problems or connection lost. Then I used the DX6i with this AR10000, also no problems.
Problem only occurs when using the DX9 with the AR6210

So I got to the conclusion that the DX9 does not like the AR6210. Will only use that receiver with the DX6i from now on
Nov 15, 2013, 08:04 AM
Registered User
Range test !!!!!!!!!
That is the first thing you do with a new radio with every model and every now and then if you do not use telemetry/flight log !
There is no such thing like "the DX9 dislikes the AR6210".
Nov 15, 2013, 08:40 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
I fly a couple planes with AR6210 and DX9. That's not the problem.

Andy
Nov 15, 2013, 12:24 PM
Stuart
srnet's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvd1968
Did a range test with the dx6i but not with the dx9i
You must have plenty of money to spend on models.
Nov 15, 2013, 01:35 PM
B12
B12
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by srnet
You must have plenty of money to spend on models.
How is that?
Feb 24, 2014, 04:35 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvd1968
Hi

I have some problems with my DX9 setup.
Crashed a plane when using the new DX9 with an AR6210 2 weeks ago.
After about 20 seconds it did an uncontrolled dive in to the ground.
Because i suspected an defected servo i rebuild it and flown it yesterday with my old DX6i and theAR6210.
There where no problems with this setup, flew for about 15 minutes with no loss of controls.

After that i binded my new DX9 to this AR6210. Started and within 20 seconds it took a dive again. Tried to recover but could not get it out of the spiral dive.
luckely it leveled above the ground so only the nose was damaged.

So, I am stucked now.
Any advise
I have a similar problem with mine. I had two lockout on two different aircraft (loosing one) with 2 different types of receiver. I suspected it was the new1.03 firmware, but have been informed that no RF changes were made in that version. Odd because I didn't have an issue with the DX9 before. I'm not happy using the transmitter now, so will send it back for testing
Feb 24, 2014, 04:47 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
We haven't made any RF changes at all in the DX9. You might want to provide some information on the aircraft and configurations including receiver, power, servos, and flying style.

Andy
Feb 25, 2014, 12:26 AM
Suspended Account
ALL manufacturers say do a range test. Most modellers say the same. Use a little care and commonsense in your installation, obeying the manufacturers instructions, and it should never be necessary. Sure, do one a year later to check nothing has deteriorated, or after a crash, but that's all.

It's called 'quality control' and it should be done at the r/c manufacturers factory. Ching Chang Wong r/c may not have heard of it but I am sure Spektrum do it.
Last edited by Mark Powell; Feb 25, 2014 at 12:34 AM.
Feb 25, 2014, 02:18 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz
We haven't made any RF changes at all in the DX9. You might want to provide some information on the aircraft and configurations including receiver, power, servos, and flying style.

Andy
The two planes were a Parkzone Spitfire and Parkzone Mosquito. The Mosquito has the stock receiver and the Spitfire a Spektrum Sports Gyro Receiver, other than that, both planes unmodified. The flying field is a farmers field with no trees or obstacles (flat land), straight line of sight to both aircraft. The aircraft lost signal in pretty much the same area approx quarter of a mile from me. The mosquito, fortunately had enough height to regain signal. The Spitfire wasn't able to regain signal before hitting the ground. The flying style was plain circuits, no aeros involved.
Last edited by lethbrp; Feb 25, 2014 at 07:07 AM.
Feb 25, 2014, 03:07 AM
Registered User
Did you check the LEDS on the rx or was the battery disconnected during the crash ? You probably had no telemetry on it ? It's a pity the 635 does not support flight log.

I think most ESCs have linear BECs. I had lots of issues with linear BECs and replaced all with ESCs with a switching BEC. They are more reliable, at least for me.
Feb 28, 2014, 04:53 PM
Registered User

1.4


I notice that within a week I have received notification of two fireware updates. I applaud Spektrum for adding new functionality, but are we sure these are being adequately tested in such a short timeframe. By their own admission it's complex code. I'm not keen on loosing more models. I think I'll wait and see how this works in the wider community.