Abc hobby northwind 36-600 ???? - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Oct 17, 2013, 01:45 PM
Resistance is futile
Discussion

Abc hobby northwind 36-600 ????

Hi guys. I am new to sailboats. I am going to be acquiring a Northwind 36-600 kit very soon. I know it is very old and discontinued. I also know that parts are hard to find for it. My questions are these:

Is this a good beginners boat?
Are there any mods or upgrades I should consider before assembling her?
What would you value an unstarted kit of this nature at?

I am just looking for something to use in my local pond for fun, not for competition. I want to learn the basics of sailing so I can design and build a sailing vessel of my own. Will this be a good boat for this purpose?

Latest blog entry: Finally got a SOLING 1 meter
to remove ads between posts
Oct 17, 2013, 07:30 PM
Resistance is futile
OK. 46 views and not even ONE comment? Whats up people? I feel abandonded here. LOL I would appreciate some input...anybody?

Oct 17, 2013, 07:57 PM
I'll reply just so you dont feel alone....

:lol:

Srsly, I'm new myself, so I'm no good for advice.
Oct 17, 2013, 11:30 PM
Resistance is futile
Thanks FishBucket. I get all kinds of help in scale boats, Dock talk, and vintage sections, but this forum seems to be void of any advise givers.
I got the boat today. Seems it was built at one time and taken apart and stored. The original builder wasn't too careful about using excess glue or proper part alignment. I went through the box of stuff I got and found that most of it is there. The person who originally started the build did a really bad job of it. I spent a good hour just cleaning as many parts as I could. I wanted to get a good look at what needs to be done. I think I'll have to basically start at square one and re-do it all.