How To Solve Motors Overheating Problems - new pictures ! - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Oct 16, 2013, 03:46 AM
Discussion

How To Solve Motors Overheating Problems - new pictures !

Hi, I would like to start discussion about this very well known problem. I am quite new to this hobby but I have already noticed that standard brushed motors are very fragile parts of out toys.

I would like to encourage people to come here and talk about how did they deal with this problem. I do not mean talking about replacement to brushless. What I would like is to hear or see is your ideas how you dealt with cooling down normal standard brushed motor. Anything that helped prolong motor life significantly.

Also please post settings to the TX if that improved motor life.

I have had mine Super CP only for a while but I already burned two motors in short period time. I hear from people here that they made some kind of heat coil from aluminium wire that helped a lot but I still can not visualize how to make that thing. Any pictures would be appreciated.

I tried to do some research on this and found nothing on internet. So lets make thread about this for anyone like me who does not want to be replacing motor every week. Please post pictures of your ideas and improvements and tell us what difference this made for you.

I hope this will be helpful for many but please admins feel free to remove this thread if you think its just waste of time and space on server
Last edited by jamichx; Oct 18, 2013 at 04:36 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Oct 16, 2013, 04:23 AM
How high does it go?..duh
1) Meshing: Check there isnt anything wrong with the meshing of the gears (motor to main etc) or stuff (hairs etc) tangled around shafts, there needs to be a tiny bit of slop between the gears, if the meshing is too tight then this makes friction that cooks the motor.

2) Heat sink: Adding an aftermarket or home made heat sink will cool the motor faster.