Sep 17, 2013, 07:05 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Dollar foam DLG

I know this will never be equivalent to a high end DLG, BUT!

I made my first quick dollar foam board DLG and it worked from what I was told it was impossible and would not withstand the launch force (I am new to DLG) it may not withstand someone better at launching.

Anyways V2 coming soon and I hope it might get more people building

It's 360 g and I know I can get that way down (it's half hot glue)
It's 1.5 m and uses pull springs
Dollar foamboard DLG (0 min 29 sec)
to remove ads between posts
Sep 17, 2013, 07:08 AM
ingenuity is still at the core of this hobby. Your right, it may not be a Stobel or some other high end carbon wonder ship, but you never know. This could be the start of the next great DLG.....
Sep 17, 2013, 11:53 AM
i love it, would love to see some photos of it . good job
Sep 17, 2013, 02:08 PM
Chuck 'Em and Chase 'Em
Could you imagine a DLG like the Radian in construction!!!

It could be a super cheap way for guys to join our ranks.

We could have cheap one design contests!

DLG combat!!

and the list goes on and on of cool things a foam DLG could bring to us....

Keep the idea going. hopefully someone will come up with a marketable solution or home built option.

Best of luck.

Frank
Sep 17, 2013, 03:08 PM
altitude adjustment
This reminds me of the foam meat tray free flight gliders I used to build with my son some years ago. We even made a few DL versions. He still talks about those gliders. Loads of fun and always beats watching the same TV show over and over. I'd love to see some close up pics of your build. Thanks for sharing.

Mark
Sep 17, 2013, 03:13 PM
please give us some close photos and details, we need good options like this for beginners, again great build
Sep 17, 2013, 03:46 PM
skumgummi dave
Wonderful effort! Tell us more...

Dave-
Sep 17, 2013, 06:17 PM