Aug 14, 2013, 06:49 AM
Thread OP
Build Log

F 111 Twin 90mm EDF

I have just taken the first steps in what is going to be my most ambitious project to date, an F 111 that I intend to power with a twin edf setup, probably in the 90mm size. A little background on the project and myself before I begin though.

I have been flying for about 16 years covering almost the full spectrum of aero modelling: Helis, large scale warbirds, ICDF jets, turbines and large scale aerobatics. Recently my interests have shifted over to the build and design side of modelling with a couple of large gliders and a composite electric soarer for the days when a tow plane isn't available.

This project first started around the late 90s when members of the club I belong to now (RAAF Amberley) were approached to repair an old wooden display model of one of the F111 squadrons. The model in question had some damage to it and it was decided that the model could be used as a plug to produce a set of moulds for a composite fuselage withe the wings and tail planes to be foam cores. The decision was also made at this stage to correct a few of the scale deviations when preparing the plug. Fast forward a lot of hard work and the moulds were produced along with the promised replacement display models which left the club in possession of the moulds and not sure what to do with them. A model was made from them and fitted out with an OS 91/Ramtec combo with the intentions of having it taxi around at an airs how before finally getting it ready for flight. Long story short the model was never finished for flight as the wing swing mech may not be up to the job, it is based on a single servo design. Having now seen the finished model it is an impressive thing and I HAD TO HAVE ONE, which is how I have arrived at the point I am at now.