Someone give me a valid reason why this won't work, seems too easy - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Feb 06, 2004, 11:45 PM
Cogito Ergo Sum

Someone give me a valid reason why this won't work, seems too easy


My thread on power supplies got kinda off the track I was looking for, but check this out...I just ordered a Triton charger today (yes from the sponsors Mr. Andy W.) and I do not have a 5 amp power supply, I have a 3 amp I use for my Hobbico MKII. This power supply I was looking at is $22.88, 5 amps..tell me what you think.

http://www.bills2way.com/equip/ps7.html

http://www.bills2way.com/equip/images/large_ps7kx.jpg

or for $41.88

http://www.bills2way.com/equip/ps12.html

How can I Power two chargers with one supply since it only has one hookup??? can I run heavy gauge wire and "pig tail" it into two?? or is that dangerous??
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Feb 07, 2004, 12:34 AM
Dreamin' in 3D
Blackhawk3D's Avatar
Sorry about your other thread, that was my fault. I don't know about that one, but i have heard that this one is good. www.ramboy.com/cosel.htm
Feb 07, 2004, 12:38 AM
Registered User
cosel is a better choice, cheaper and higher current rating.
Feb 07, 2004, 07:16 AM
Registered User
Andy W's Avatar
5A is not enough. Go with what they suggest above (although I can't stand those exposed A/C connectors!0..

I prefer the RadioShack 20-25A switched units - when on sale..
..a
Feb 07, 2004, 07:44 AM
Cogito Ergo Sum
what about my pigtail question
Feb 07, 2004, 07:51 AM
Registered User
Andy W's Avatar
With those power supplies, I wouldn't be running more than one anyway.

With a good power supply, however, you can make up an adapter, whatever works for you. I have 4mm "banana" plugs on all of my chargers, and made up an adapter with several 4mm female connectors that mount directly to the power supply output.
..a
Feb 07, 2004, 02:05 PM
Cogito Ergo Sum
So I bought the Triton charger because my Hobbico charger only does up to 8 cells and I am running a 9 cell GP 3300 pack. The triton charges at 5 amp max.....does my pack need to be charged at more than 5 amps to get the batteries optimal performance. My plane flies so fast right now and everyone says I am not even gettting it charged fully. what am I doing right or wrong?? was the triton the wrong choice?
Feb 07, 2004, 06:28 PM
Registered User
The Triton is probably the right choice.

The thing is that although the Triton puts 5A out into the battery, it will pull more then 5A in from the power supply. It needs a higher input current to boost the output voltage up.

Stuart
Feb 07, 2004, 08:04 PM
Cogito Ergo Sum
oh ok, makes sense. the triton will require more. so how many amps would I charge the 9 cell GP 3300 mah pack at??? will the triton auto-detect. charging at 1C is 3.3amps right??? or would I just charge it at 1 amp.
Feb 07, 2004, 08:05 PM
Cogito Ergo Sum
by the way, thanks for responding to all my questions, this transitions from gas has been an EXTREME learning curve but I am getting there. poor Andy W. has responded to all my questions....I appreciate that.
Feb 07, 2004, 11:01 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
Wierd...Ronald I have 2 Tritons and I run both of them with one of the Cosels from RAMBOY. (I have 3 just in case.) I've found that the secret to being able to fly a lot is not more battery packs but more chargers. Probably buy the Astro Lipo charger next.
Looks like we're traveling down the same path. Don't tell me you just bought a Groove!
Feb 08, 2004, 01:18 AM
Cogito Ergo Sum
I have a bid in now on a 25 amp radio shack power supply. If i do not get that I might go with the cosel one. Is it pretty simple to get it up and running? can I run multiple power leads from it? The radio shack one is only one single lead so I would have to make some kind of adapter so I can run multi chargers.
Feb 08, 2004, 07:23 AM
Registered User
Andy W's Avatar
Someone explained that you need more current in than out - this is true for more than about 7 cells (as 8 or more requires >12V out)..

Also, note that very few power supplies will deliver 12V at rated current. Most will drop significantly as they get close. So if you buy, say, a 10A power supply, it may trigger low voltage warnings (which often terminate the charge cycle) on your charger at around 7A..

That's why a nice beefy 20 or 25A unit is best for larger packs of high capacity cells. For the parkflyers, however, the small ones do work just fine..
..a
..a
Feb 08, 2004, 07:33 AM
EDF Head
Haldor's Avatar
In vs out:

Say a 12cell GP3300 pack is charging, the voltage on avg. = 1,4V/cell. 10cells = 16.8V
Charged at 1C = 3.3A

Power needed is 16.8V x 3.3A = 55.44VA

Then the powersupply under this load maintain a output voltage of 13.5V:
55.44VA / 13.5V = 4.1A drawn from the supply. (on avg.)

Then say a 20cell GP3300 pack running at 5A:

20cells x 1.4Vavg = 28V
28V x 5A = 140VA
140VA / 13.5V = 10.37A
Feb 08, 2004, 07:47 AM
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
The Ramboy works wonderfully on my Triton. Never an issue.

$$ is right - you will be fine with it...

mike