Introducing the NEW Cellpro Dual PowerLab 8x2 from Revolectrix - Page 24 - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Nov 01, 2017, 03:33 AM
Registered User
Hello,
is there a 3D model of the charger available somewhere ? I'm designing a charger case with fusion 360 and it would be helpful to have a nice model...
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 01, 2017, 12:01 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by shockley
Hello,
is there a 3D model of the charger available somewhere ? I'm designing a charger case with fusion 360 and it would be helpful to have a nice model...
If you're designing a case for it, do you really need a 3D model of it?

All you really need is the DIMS. And if you're designing a case for it, do you not already have the charger?
Nov 11, 2017, 03:10 PM
Registered User
aymodeler's Avatar
I am just learning how to use my new DPL 8x2. For all of the LiPo presets, there is no "Automatic" mode available in the menus. In other words, I select a preset (e.g.; LiPo Generic Faster Charge), specify "No" for Multiple Packs, then on the Specify Charge Rate screen, the only options I have are to manually set the current.

I can scroll up and down through all the current settings and it will loop around. Nowhere does 1C, 2C, or 3C show up.

I have contacted Revo tech support, but so far, they have not been able to help (they just keep telling me that the Auto options are on the the Select Charge Rate screen, and even have gone so far as to send me a video of what I SHOULD be seeing).

Does anyone else have this issue? Am I doing something wrong?
Last edited by aymodeler; Nov 11, 2017 at 03:39 PM.
Nov 11, 2017, 03:46 PM
Registered User
Bhodi11's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by aymodeler
I am just learning how to use my new DPL 8x2. For all of the LiPo presets, there is no "Automatic" mode available in the menus. In other words, I select a preset (e.g.; LiPo Generic Faster Charge), specify "No" for Multiple Packs, then on the Specify Charge Rate screen, the only options I have are to manually set the current.

I can scroll up and down through all the current settings and it will loop around. Nowhere does 1C, 2C, or 3C show up.

I have contacted Revo tech support, but so far, they have not been able to help (they just keep telling me that the Auto options are on the the Select Charge Rate screen, and even have gone so far as to send me a video of what I SHOULD be seeing).

Does anyone else have this issue? Am I doing something wrong?
You have to do the “C” math yourself. So for Lipo generic if you had a 5000mah 2-6s pack you wanted to charge at 3c it would be 15 amps you would set it to. 3 (C) x 5(000) = 15(amps)

or

a 1300mah 2-6s pack at 5c would be 5(C) x 1.3(00) = 6.5(amps)

You would be best off to use the software and set up a few presets to suit your needs instead of using the big list of factory presets. I pretty much use 4 - LiHv accurate, Lipo accurate, A123, and nicad. It covers all my bases.
Last edited by Bhodi11; Nov 11, 2017 at 03:57 PM.
Nov 11, 2017, 05:22 PM
Registered User
aymodeler's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bhodi11
You have to do the “C” math yourself. So for Lipo generic if you had a 5000mah 2-6s pack you wanted to charge at 3c it would be 15 amps you would set it to. 3 (C) x 5(000) = 15(amps)

or

a 1300mah 2-6s pack at 5c would be 5(C) x 1.3(00) = 6.5(amps)

You would be best off to use the software and set up a few presets to suit your needs instead of using the big list of factory presets. I pretty much use 4 - LiHv accurate, Lipo accurate, A123, and nicad. It covers all my bases.
I can do the math easy enough ... but given the price I paid for what is considered to be a fairly high end charger, I kind of expect the advertised features to work.
Nov 11, 2017, 07:05 PM
3D? I only got two thumbs!
Quote:
Originally Posted by aymodeler
I can do the math easy enough ... but given the price I paid for what is considered to be a fairly high end charger, I kind of expect the advertised features to work.
Yes, they certainly should. Not sure why you wouldn't be seeing those, but I'd go through all the settings carefully and see if there might be something that got disabled by accident. Support of course should know if there is something that could disable those, but if they aren't helping, at the very least going through all the menus will help get you more familiar with your new charger.

I don't use the auto C rates because they're slower. If you pick for example 2C, it carefully and slowly ramps up charging current until it figures out what it thinks your battery is. I believe it does this with IR, but it seems to add more time than just the initial wait for the IR value to get figured out so maybe there's more going on. Anyway, it's clearly slower to charge the auto 2C charge rate way than to just figure out what 2C is and put in that current.
Nov 11, 2017, 09:42 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by AeroKen
Yes, they certainly should. Not sure why you wouldn't be seeing those, but I'd go through all the settings carefully and see if there might be something that got disabled by accident. Support of course should know if there is something that could disable those, but if they aren't helping, at the very least going through all the menus will help get you more familiar with your new charger.

I don't use the auto C rates because they're slower. If you pick for example 2C, it carefully and slowly ramps up charging current until it figures out what it thinks your battery is. I believe it does this with IR, but it seems to add more time than just the initial wait for the IR value to get figured out so maybe there's more going on. Anyway, it's clearly slower to charge the auto 2C charge rate way than to just figure out what 2C is and put in that current.
That is correct - the auto charge modes start slowly to detect the cell IR and then set an appropriate charge rate. That detection does slow the beginning of the operation.

If you want both fully automated charge setup AND optimal charge times, consider adding a Bump Controller and BumpTags to your PL setup - then you just bump the pack, connect wires, and hit Go.
Nov 12, 2017, 07:25 AM
3D? I only got two thumbs!
Quote:
Originally Posted by RevoKelly
That is correct - the auto charge modes start slowly to detect the cell IR and then set an appropriate charge rate. That detection does slow the beginning of the operation.

If you want both fully automated charge setup AND optimal charge times, consider adding a Bump Controller and BumpTags to your PL setup - then you just bump the pack, connect wires, and hit Go.
Any thoughts on why aymodeler canít see the 1C, 2C, 3C charge rates? (His original question: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...&postcount=348)
Nov 12, 2017, 07:33 AM
Registered User
ggcrandall1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AeroKen
Any thoughts on why aymodeler canít see the 1C, 2C, 3C charge rates? (His original question: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...&postcount=348)
The option to select 1c, 2c, 3c charge rates appears to have been removed from the DPL8. The selection of those rates is in the charge current selection for the PL8 but is no longer there in the DPL8.

Glen
Nov 12, 2017, 11:01 AM
3D? I only got two thumbs!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggcrandall1
The option to select 1c, 2c, 3c charge rates appears to have been removed from the DPL8. The selection of those rates is in the charge current selection for the PL8 but is no longer there in the DPL8.

Glen
Cosmic. I just checked on mine, don't see them either. I could have sworn they were there, but then again I never actually use them so I guess I must have been picturing my PL6. Poked around a bit, don't see any settings anywhere that would affect whether they are shown. It's odd though, because the DPL8 manual you can download from the revo site does mention them in a few places.
Nov 12, 2017, 11:17 AM
Registered User
aymodeler's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AeroKen
Cosmic. I just checked on mine, don't see them either. I could have sworn they were there, but then again I never actually use them so I guess I must have been picturing my PL6. Poked around a bit, don't see any settings anywhere that would affect whether they are shown. It's odd though, because the DPL8 manual you can download from the revo site does mention them in a few places.
OK, so it seems like I am no the only one who can't see the auto settings. The manual clearly calls them out and even the tech support guy I have exchanged e-mail with thinks they should be there.

Maybe sort of change was made (on purpose or in error) to the firmware, but it has not been clearly communicated?
Yesterday, 11:32 AM
Not Insane
dogbreath's Avatar
I have a dual PL8 with a bump controller. Today I updated the bump controller firmware, but when I hooked up the fuim3 to the dpl8 I now have solid rectangles across the top of the displays. The firmware update will not work, saying there is an error. Com 9 is open when the fuim3 is connected to both sides. Any suggestions? thanks, Dan


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Introducing the ALL NEW Cellpro PowerLab 6 (EC5 version) Charger Howard Matos FMA Direct 435 Aug 01, 2016 12:04 PM
Discussion New Powerlab 8X2 302 Z28 Batteries and Chargers 11 Jul 09, 2016 06:49 AM
Discussion Revolectrix Cellpro PowerLab 8 (Charges In 5 Min?) Nickerz Batteries and Chargers 1 Feb 11, 2013 03:30 AM
Discussion The NEXT Cellpro PowerLab from FMA/Revolectrix RCnGuy FMA Direct 13 Aug 20, 2012 10:27 PM
Sold Revolectrix/FMA direct Cellpro PowerLab 8 unused new thwang99 Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 2 Aug 26, 2010 04:24 PM