IMAX B6 charger (original and clone) - open source firmware - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Jul 07, 2013, 08:59 AM
Registered User
Discussion

IMAX B6 charger (original and clone) - open source firmware


Hi guys,

If someone is interested in an open software firmware
for the IMAX B6 charger:

https://github.com/stawel/cheali-charger

But still:
It's an early version, not everything is implemented yet,
so if your charger works perfectly fine, don't use it.
But if you have calibration issues, you can try it out.

Let me know what you think
and as always: Have fun!

Paweł
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jul 07, 2013, 11:28 PM
Registered User
I've got a Hobbyking Quattro 4x6 that is off it's trigger points when charging different types of batteries.
It does have the capability of changing set points for each of the four positions, but it's still not right because then you can only charge the one kind of battery on that position.

The firmware is similar to the IMAX B6 other than the Quattro is a four port charger, so is there a similar firmware update available for the Quattro line of charger? It looks like everyone and their brother makes a similar charger, including Hitec itself, so I'd think there would be a solution out there somewhere.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=10327
Jul 08, 2013, 08:48 AM
Registered User
I've watched: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZVHvun0fmFI

It seems to me that it's compatible witch the BC6
(the software is based on the BC6 schematics).

So, cheali-charge should work on it,
even if not we can try to add the support.

If you want to do that please create a separate forum thread
where we can discuss the details,
you'll have to do some measurements, to be sure,
you have only four trials


I'm little worried about the fans
(on the imax B6 there are no fans).
Oct 19, 2013, 03:08 PM
Registered User
Quote:
I'm little worried about the fans
(on the imax B6 there are no fans).
Yes, there is a lot of imax fans.
Just keep secrets.
Oct 20, 2013, 11:13 AM
Registered User

working on Turnigy MAx200W and Mega400x2


working on Turnigy MAx200W (same as GTPOWER a6-10) and

Mega400x2 working (coming soon)

Turnigy Accucell6 working (coming soon)
Last edited by njozsef; Oct 20, 2013 at 04:03 PM.
Oct 20, 2013, 10:39 PM
Registered User
htuong95's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by njozsef
working on Turnigy MAx200W (same as GTPOWER a6-10) and

Mega400x2 working (coming soon)

Turnigy Accucell6 working (coming soon)
Waiting patiently on the Accucell 6 firmware.
Oct 21, 2013, 01:09 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by htuong95
Waiting patiently on the Accucell 6 firmware.
Please visit the https://github.com/stawel/cheali-charger

I have old 5A version accucell6 (tested, work)
The new 6A version I do not know.
The new version I not found ISP pads. This is a small problem.


old version.





new version: where is ISP pads???





ISP
Last edited by njozsef; Oct 21, 2013 at 04:04 AM.
Oct 21, 2013, 02:08 AM
Registered User
Thanks for sharing this wonderful project! I always wanted internal resistance meter my cheap Imax B6, and now realized.
Oct 21, 2013, 02:40 AM
222 km/hr Parkjet flyer
solentlife's Avatar
VERY interested ... I'm no good at programming or that stuff - so will be a happy receiver of firmware.

The biggest interest to me as my two B6 clones work fine - is the IR addition to the chargers ... something that I have been looking into more and more recently. If it works and saves me buying another machine - marvellous !

Question : I was led to believe that the Accucel 6 was basically same as the clone B6 ... but I see here that they are treated separately in the firmware stakes ... ?

Nigel
Oct 21, 2013, 03:11 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by solentlife
VERY interested ... I'm no good at programming or that stuff - so will be a happy receiver of firmware.

The biggest interest to me as my two B6 clones work fine - is the IR addition to the chargers ... something that I have been looking into more and more recently. If it works and saves me buying another machine - marvellous !

Question : I was led to believe that the Accucel 6 was basically same as the clone B6 ... but I see here that they are treated separately in the firmware stakes ... ?

Nigel
Pawel is mainly due to the default calibration data. Therefore, different firmwares.
Oct 21, 2013, 08:42 AM
Registered User
This is great. I'll try to flash my older version of Accucell-6. Which version should I choose? The B6-clone or B6-original? Thanks.
Oct 21, 2013, 09:21 AM
Registered User
RC Aerobat's Avatar
It would have been good but unfortunately I broke my B6 (clone I think) by accidentally shorting the battery charge lead banana plug on the balance socket for a second while I didn't realise a battery was plugged in.
Oct 21, 2013, 09:55 AM
Registered User
Please wait.
AC6 calibration progress "charge current value" not enough for 1000mA reference measuring.

Pawel working this problem.


Quote:
Originally Posted by d3nys
This is great. I'll try to flash my older version of Accucell-6. Which version should I choose? The B6-clone or B6-original? Thanks.
or compile own firmware:
orig forum: https://groups.google.com/forum/#!to...er/iC1KwQuzUlM
Oct 21, 2013, 03:28 PM
Registered User
logview support all cargers.


serial port patch


serial interface (please off external temp sensor if serial port active)
info: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1046318

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...20hobby%20king
Oct 22, 2013, 12:50 AM
Registered User
serjuro's Avatar
Hi guys, having a old PCB Accucel 6 on wich I shorted the positive output lead to the input ground source, I wait for the FW to try to bring the charger back to life ...