Jan 30, 2004, 02:28 PM
Thread OP
Question

Sloping in San Diego

Does anyone know of a few places in the SD area that you can slope at during normal (westerly winds) and during Santa Anna conditions?

I am a newbie and I am dying for more stick time with my new Combat Wing XL (I am totally hooked). I work near the coast but the winds have been below 7 mph for over a month now (with a few days exception) and I am just looking for another spot. I really need 10+ mph sustained to keep me out of trouble.

I am also considering buying into the Weasel-Pro lifestyle but then I will also need a new TX as well but I understand that I can fly these in 4-8 mph winds without as much trouble as my XL.

Any advice anyone can add will be much appreciated.
to remove ads between posts
Jan 30, 2004, 03:35 PM
characters welcome!
Welcome to LiftZone and the Slope forum, neojeep!

There's quite a few spots that I'm sure the guys here will tell you about (try the search function too). The wind has pretty much sucked all winter but that should change pretty soon.

mw
Jan 30, 2004, 03:47 PM
I have a Weasal Pro also but I have found it just doesn't stay up in anything below 10 mph. Infact it is a real strugle to keep it flying, but maybe mine is heavier than others.

Get something like a HLG or DLG to fly in really light lift. For instance something like a Colibri or a Falco V which I am building. Run a search on both and you find out how well they fly. They in comparison cost $125 dollars for the kit vs. $330 dollars or more for a DLG.

10 mph winds my Weasal Pro flys Ok! but I have to let you know it really comes alive when it is blowing 20 mph.

Henry
Last edited by hmhoshi; Feb 02, 2004 at 12:12 AM.
Jan 30, 2004, 04:39 PM
For Westerlies there's a popular site in Carlsbad, just south of where Palomar Airport Rd meets the coast.
I occasionally fly and see other's flying above the RR Tracks at the end of Carmel Valley Road in Del Mar.