Jan 28, 2004, 06:10 PM
Motorized lawn dart
Thread OP

After run oil

Whats your favorite AR oil ? Marvel Mystery seems to be popular here at our field.
to remove ads between posts
Jan 28, 2004, 10:02 PM
I find that ordinary 5-30 or 10-30 car engine oil works as good or better than any of the after run oils I have used in the past. It is readily available and the price is right.
Jan 29, 2004, 03:38 PM
Mopar92,
I use pneumatic tool lub oil as an after run oil. It is best because it absorbs water that is in the glow fuels thus preventing rust.
Dick Huang
Feb 05, 2004, 09:28 PM
I heard that some pilots use WD-40 to use either for winter storage or after flight....Is this bad???
Feb 06, 2004, 07:09 AM
Motorized lawn dart
Thread OP
3 in1 now makes 20 weight motor oil in a small pocket size. Anybody see this stuff?
Feb 06, 2004, 08:29 AM
I am new to rc. What is after run oil and how do you use it.
Feb 06, 2004, 08:39 AM
Motorized lawn dart
Thread OP
After run oil is to be run through the engine after a days flying is done. Prevents corrosion and rust to bearings and surfaces inside the motor. Alcohol used to make glow fuel can and will draw some moisture. You know what moisture can do. In our race cars that run alky, we run gas through everything to prevent this. Of course that is not a good idea here.
Feb 06, 2004, 09:15 AM
Hey guys, maybe you can answer this....

I am using Morgans Cool Power 10%....I was reading on the jug that they do not recommend the use of after run oil due to their fuel already contatining rust preventative.

Whats y'alls thoughts?

A little extra oil won't hurt anything in IMHO.
Feb 06, 2004, 11:08 AM
Motorized lawn dart
Thread OP
Well, I don't see how anybody can make methanol that avoids water, or visa versa. If nothing else, it lubes the bottom end on my 4 strokes, which can't ever hurt.
Feb 09, 2004, 05:50 PM
Corrosion X By Far is the best after run oil!!

JW
Feb 09, 2004, 11:44 PM
Motorized lawn dart
Thread OP