Just Highlander 54Ē - RC Groups
Jun 22, 2013, 02:31 PM
Letís eschew obfuscation.
Build Log

Just Highlander 54Ē

Here are plans and a construction article of a Just Aircraft Highlander I have been flying since 2011. The model flies great and is adept at short field takeoffs and landings and handles rough fields with ease.

The full scale Highlander is a modern light sport aircraft usually built as a homebuilt. The plans are for a 1/7 scale model of the Highlander. The model has folding wings, electric power, and balsa / carbon fiber / iron-on covering construction. Control is the basic 4 channels plus flaps.

Download the three files below to build the Highlander. Edit 1/19/14: The files now reside here at RCGroups.

The specs are:

Wing Span: 54 in.
Wing Area: 355 sq. in.
Flying Weight: 26 oz.
Motor: Himax HC2812-0850, 150W
Battery: Thunder Power 1350mA 3S LiPo
Prop: APC 10 x 4.7 SF
Servos: 6 Futaba S3114
Speed Control: Castle Thunderbird 18
Receiver: Orange RX 8 chan (Futaba FASST compatible)

Pat Tritle recently started a thread on a 60” Highlander at: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1914317

Scott
Last edited by scott swanson; Jan 19, 2014 at 08:55 PM. Reason: Files now reside here at RCGroups.
to remove ads between posts
Jun 22, 2013, 02:34 PM
A few things I have learned since building the original documentation:

Dave Brown Lite Flite 3-1/2Ē wheels are a good comprimise between really big and light weight.

The K & S Tube Assortment is the least expensive way to acquire many of the odd sizes of brass and aluminum tube I have specified.

I fly with either a 1350mA or a 2200mA 3S battery. The battery is close enough to the CG that it will balance with either.

When the wing folds back it is too low and hits the tail brace. Moving the strut hinge aft to line up with F3 would fix this but would require a bit of re-design of F3.