May 04, 2013, 11:35 PM
Discussion

Keel weight?.

I'm new to sailing and have wanted one for a long time. but didn't know if I would like it...
But I hade a chance to get a H/K phantom 1.89m at a steal.. so I pulled the trigger.

my question is how much weight should I put in the keel. my friend says the more the better for a noob.. is that the case?.. or should I put in the 1.3 kg that it calls for.. any advice would help thx for your time
to remove ads between posts
May 05, 2013, 03:05 AM
General rule of thumb is that the bulb should be some where between 60-70% of the total weight of the boat for good righting moment, the lower the bulb weight ratio the more boat will be prone to heel too far.

Having said that, most commercially made RC yachts are not designed to carry high bulb weight ratios, so you may then wish to keep adding weight until you get the hull sailing on its lines correctly, too much weight will sink the hull in the water and increased wetted surface area and slow the boat down (noticeably in light wind)

To compound the problem further many commercially made boats have too much sail area & under weight bulbs (double whammy) as result are very unstable in decent wind, only answer is to trim down the sail area and or increase bulb weight.

If you can use lead it has higher density per unit volume compared to most other metals, meaning more weight for less wetted surface area = less drag.

Example two bulbs same shape & size 1) Steel weight = 1.5 kgs and 2) Lead weight = 2.8 kgs.

Hope it helps

Cheers Alan
May 05, 2013, 05:59 AM
The other advantage of using a denser material for a submerged ballast bulb is that it will displace less water for a given weight. Not a heck of a lot, but every little helps.