Apr 23, 2013, 05:35 PM
Auckland, New Zealand
Thread OP
Question

FrSky Taranis - assimilating web info

I am new to r/c and have a couple of gliders (a 6 channel e-glider and a 2 channel slope flier). I would like to move to a computer radio for the e-glider (obviously little advantage aside from exponential control mapping for the 2 channel, but I would prefer to have 1 receiver bound to all models), but things get confusing following the internet information about the Taranis. This is what i have put together so far, and I am asking for confirmation/correction:

-Initial rumors were of a 9 channel receiver, but it will actually be 16 channels
-the difference with the Horus (aside from earlier release date) will be in quality of manufacture and materials in the transmitter. No of channels and features will be the same. Does anyone have any ideas what kind of difference eg plastic v magnesium?
-receivers will be 8,12 & 16 channel, with 12 channel longer range but no telemetry.
this gives rise to questions
-will there be an option of a micro-receiver with no bells and whistles to go in the 2 channel?
-what is duplex telemetry in the 16 channel? I was under the belief most of this r/c technology was duplex (bidirectional simultaneous transmission).
-what kind of info will the telemetry support? Asside from battery remaining, I would have thought the most useful info to a glider pilot would be airspeed, altitude and vertical accelerometer (an artificial horizon would be great too, but I guess this would require gyros/vacuum pumps, for which weight penalty would outweigh benefit). How would airspeed be measured?

Thank you for all your thoughts/knowledge.
to remove ads between posts
Apr 24, 2013, 01:31 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcshaz
...This is what i have put together so far, and I am asking for confirmation/correction:

-Initial rumors were of a 9 channel receiver, but it will actually be 16 channels