Thread Tools
Old Mar 12, 2013, 06:51 PM
Askyvision is offline
Find More Posts by Askyvision
Albuquerque USA
for 15" prop you will have 15mm clearance similar to my s800 which swing ok but the S800 have a tilted motors inward instead of upward dont know if that make any different.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 12, 2013, 08:26 PM
hixon_blues is offline
Find More Posts by hixon_blues
Registered User
hixon_blues's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Askyvision View Post
for 15" prop you will have 15mm clearance similar to my s800 which swing ok but the S800 have a tilted motors inward instead of upward dont know if that make any different.
Ok cool... If we could run 15 in props that would help me out a lot. Anyone know what adequate prop clearance is?
Old Mar 16, 2013, 01:34 PM
hixon_blues is offline
Find More Posts by hixon_blues
Registered User
hixon_blues's Avatar

First Hover


Tarot ironman 1000 first flight!! (1 min 0 sec)


Ok so I got my larger props (turnigy wood 14x4.5) this last week and was able to sustain hover.

After this video I went to my local air field for some more test flights which didnt go so well. After Initial hover It started a oscillating wobble of death causing me to crash land (EVERYTHING IS OK) After messing with the gains I did another test flight same thing I can hover but once I give it any control inputs (especially Yaw) it starts to oscillate uncontrollably.

The problem seems to be my batteries, I need to upgrade to 6 Cells with my 320kv motors. I ran all my specs through the Ecalc and 6 cell will give me 48% throttle at hover.

Once I get my gimbal and camera on I may find out that I will need some faster motors....
Last edited by hixon_blues; Mar 16, 2013 at 01:47 PM.
Old Mar 16, 2013, 02:03 PM
rc-mike is offline
Find More Posts by rc-mike
Stay airborne my friends
rc-mike's Avatar
Yeah, I think you just need more voltage with those motors.

I had an esc quit while in flight yesterday. The craft was fully loaded with the Cinestar gimbal and my T4i on it. I also had two very heavy 8000 mah zippy packs on it. I simply flew it back to me and landed when I saw the prop stop. It flew exactly the same and never even twitched when it quit. I am very happy with that. It turns out the signal wire was pulled from the circuit board along with the solder pad. I remember the wires on one got cought on something when I was picking it up while flashing them. I probably damaged it then and it finally broke while flying.
Old Mar 16, 2013, 02:30 PM
Skewp is offline
Find More Posts by Skewp
In progress...
Skewp's Avatar
Could someone tell me the total weight of the Tarot Ironman kit?
Old Mar 16, 2013, 04:30 PM
hixon_blues is offline
Find More Posts by hixon_blues
Registered User
hixon_blues's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skewp View Post
Could someone tell me the total weight of the Tarot Ironman kit?
Fully loaded WITHOUT battery mine is 3.973 Kilograms

sunnysky 320kv motors
DJI Wkm.
spektrum receiver and telem
quadrocopter.com power distribution cable
Old Mar 16, 2013, 10:02 PM
kristiaj is offline
Find More Posts by kristiaj
Registered User
So... what motors do you recommend on this, running on 4S and 14' props? Will carry a Canon T2i/550D in a cinestar gimbal. I'm thinking maybe some rctigers around 500KV?
Old Mar 16, 2013, 10:53 PM
pantherqs is offline
Find More Posts by pantherqs
Registered User
If you're going to run 4s, just get some solid 700kv's. Thats what most of the cinestar's use. Still not understanding why everyone's got a hardon for insanely low kv motors. [inb4efficiency]
Old Mar 16, 2013, 10:59 PM
rc-mike is offline
Find More Posts by rc-mike
Stay airborne my friends
rc-mike's Avatar
Yep. I'm using 700kv motors on my iron man and they are working very well. 12x3.8 props with a cinestar gimbal and T4i and it hauls it around easily.
Old Mar 16, 2013, 11:13 PM
pantherqs is offline
Find More Posts by pantherqs
Registered User
I'm actually going to be building one of these shortly as a test bed for apm+dd cinestar. Want to see if it'll be any decent compared to my ff. Going to get these RCT motors http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo...9&productname= on 12x3.8's. We'll see how terrible it turns out.
Old Mar 17, 2013, 06:57 AM
kristiaj is offline
Find More Posts by kristiaj
Registered User
Those rctimer mototors look promising. It is probably comparable to the Avroto that "everyone" use. http://montorc.com/M2814Shaft.aspx
But these motors will not handle more than 12' props. Larger props would be more efficient, in theory, right..?
Old Mar 17, 2013, 09:55 AM
metalfred is offline
Find More Posts by metalfred
Falling with style
metalfred's Avatar
My Ironman 1000 is ready for maiden, waiting on the table.

I need good weather and a day off of work which won't happen until 2 weeks... will post video!

wkm, mt3515-15, plush 40a, 14x4.7, 2x6s 5k
Old Mar 17, 2013, 11:14 AM
pantherqs is offline
Find More Posts by pantherqs
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by kristiaj View Post
Those rctimer mototors look promising. It is probably comparable to the Avroto that "everyone" use. http://montorc.com/M2814Shaft.aspx
But these motors will not handle more than 12' props. Larger props would be more efficient, in theory, right..?
These have plenty of headroom for 13-14's on 4s and load. I'm eventually going to end up swinging those as well.
Old Mar 17, 2013, 11:27 AM
rc-mike is offline
Find More Posts by rc-mike
Stay airborne my friends
rc-mike's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pantherqs View Post
I'm actually going to be building one of these shortly as a test bed for apm+dd cinestar. Want to see if it'll be any decent compared to my ff. Going to get these RCT motors http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo...9&productname= on 12x3.8's. We'll see how terrible it turns out.
Those motors look identical to the Sunnysky motors I am using besides the colors. I am also using 12x3.8 props and they work very well. I have heard that the Sunnysky motors are the same as the Cinestar motors but I really don't know for sure.
Old Mar 17, 2013, 01:09 PM
Askyvision is offline
Find More Posts by Askyvision
Albuquerque USA
I have 6 of these coming from them for my fy650 quad. I tried the sunny sky 3508 350kv on my quad with 4s battery with 12x4.5 but it won't lift off the ground. Tried 14x4.7 and it up but not so good


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Help me design my DSLR Octocopter build neo__04 Multirotor Talk 14 Nov 06, 2014 12:47 PM
For Sale CarbonCore 1000 Octocopter can carry 5D Aviator1 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 7 Sep 06, 2013 07:26 PM
Discussion tarot IRON MAN1000 8 aix octocopter zhangdanchen Multirotor Talk 41 Mar 25, 2013 01:04 PM
Discussion Iron Man Flying Man asat Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 10 Feb 20, 2013 05:39 AM
Discussion Tarot IRON MAN 1000 Octorotor appleboy Multirotor Talk 1 Jan 28, 2013 09:24 PM