Thread Tools
Jul 11, 2013, 07:26 AM
bobepine's Avatar
Fail safe with kk2 falls on rx and tx setup. Can be programmed with most of them.

Best,
Chris
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jul 11, 2013, 09:39 AM
Registered User
Reminds me that I should set the failsafe on my frsky rx. What do you set it to? Zero throttle would result it falling hard, but I guess it is hard to set a slow landing failsafe on a quad.
Jul 11, 2013, 09:53 AM
Need more props..........
Oso Grande's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kronblom
Reminds me that I should set the failsafe on my frsky rx. What do you set it to? Zero throttle would result it falling hard, but I guess it is hard to set a slow landing failsafe on a quad.
I set mine to zero throttle with my KK2 boards. I figure it'll crash anyway but at least it won't have spinning props in case someone finds it before I do. I also have a lost model beeper that gets triggered at failsafe. Makes it easier to locate in thicker brush.
Jul 11, 2013, 10:26 AM
Knowledge prevents flyaways
ecks's Avatar
Can someone explain how to do this, dont undestand how the receiver can react to a failsafe if the transmitter is dead, does the rx have memory?
Jul 11, 2013, 11:17 AM
When in doubt throttle out
zestyzsauce's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecks
Can someone explain how to do this, dont undestand how the receiver can react to a failsafe if the transmitter is dead, does the rx have memory?
yeah I had to figure out what PPM and UART were, here is my research...
its really hard to google these acronyms and get a clear answer...

UART - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Univer...er/transmitter
PPM - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pulse-position_modulation

another good resource

http://wiki.openpilot.org/display/Do...vos-Modulation
Jul 11, 2013, 11:28 AM
bobepine's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso Grande
I set mine to zero throttle with my KK2 boards. I figure it'll crash anyway but at least it won't have spinning props in case someone finds it before I do. I also have a lost model beeper that gets triggered at failsafe. Makes it easier to locate in thicker brush.

I set mine to 0% throttle as well. Sure it falls down, but this is likely going to damage the frame. if you set it to a certain throttle it will not stop until you recover the quad or until the battery dies, Wherever it falls, if props rotation is restricted, the motors will heat up and may end up faulting your FC and burning both motors and ESCs.

Best to let the quad fall down and sort it out from there, IMO.

Best,
Chris
Jul 11, 2013, 11:47 AM
Registered User
cyberbillp's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecks
Can someone explain how to do this, dont undestand how the receiver can react to a failsafe if the transmitter is dead, does the rx have memory?
It does actually. But not all of them. My flysky, just maintains current settings hoping it gets a signal again (flies away forever). It's all in the RX though. My TX (9x) has the fail safe menu, but I think only the 3 channel RX accepts failsafe settings.

Multiwii has it's own fail safe I think.

Personally, I've never messed with any of it, though I should.
Jul 11, 2013, 11:50 AM
Need more props..........
Oso Grande's Avatar
I'm still using my dragon link and it's got its own failsafe. You just set the controls as you want them to failsafe to and hold the button on the DL for about 2 seconds and release.
Jul 11, 2013, 12:22 PM
Registered User
rallie_86's Avatar
Just got a nice package earlier today
And, i already know how to change props. The hard way.. Lol
Jul 11, 2013, 12:36 PM
Quad On!!
nate25j's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rallie_86
Just got a nice package earlier today
And, i already know how to change props. The hard way.. Lol
That's very nice! The really like that color combo for the frame. Jealous face! lol I want one!
Jul 11, 2013, 03:01 PM
Need more props..........
Oso Grande's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rallie_86
Just got a nice package earlier today
And, i already know how to change props. The hard way.. Lol
The hard way..........

You mean the FUN way!!!
Jul 11, 2013, 03:41 PM
Registered User
Simson's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberbillp
Wonder where he got that bubble on top?
Actually Ive cutted this out of a packaging from a microphone.
- One man's trash is another man's treasure. -


Quote:
Originally Posted by cruiser73
Hey Harry. Was this in acro mode?
Yes, just with Gyro in Acro Mode. Stick Scaling is on all channels at 160
Jul 11, 2013, 10:09 PM
Registered User
well had my first break with the ecks lol..... came down hard on the corner "motor mount area" and broke it off right in the center of the hole lol..... needless to say its plywood so some 6 minute epoxy and all is well :-)

tim
Jul 11, 2013, 10:14 PM
Registered User
Razzure's Avatar
Simson - from what I could see of your video, looks like a really nice build. Wish I could watch the rest, but it just won't load well. I tried several times. I was thinking about investing in some prop savers. I seem to replace at least a couple props a week right now. My last crash broke 3. Should finally be getting some video this weekend.
Jul 12, 2013, 01:00 AM
Knowledge prevents flyaways
ecks's Avatar
I'm loving the fact that these frames can just be glued back together

That hole next to the motor was a bit of a problem, I have since shrunken/shrinked/shranked? that hole


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale MK ESCs (x8) V2.0 + MK FltCtl 2.1 ME + Droidworx octo frame V2 + Axi 2217 (x8) DanWalker.AK Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 3 Aug 13, 2014 05:23 AM
Discussion HBFP Mk.I (v1) Frame and Boom Upgrade - V2 frame or King 2/3 Frame? rawfuls Micro Helis 1 Feb 21, 2011 06:07 PM
Discussion Trex 450 SE V2 frame vs. HDX 450 SE V3 G10 frame (super frame) richord Mini Helis 1 Apr 02, 2009 11:11 PM