New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Feb 24, 2013, 09:25 AM
BernieV is offline
Find More Posts by BernieV
Registered User
Discussion

What Grade Of Rohacell To Use?


I am going to mold a Q500 pylon racer wing. I have used balsa previously but would like to try Rohacell.

I am thinking I should use the Rohacell 51 IG-F with a 2mm thickness. Will that work, any comments or suggestions?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 26, 2013, 03:21 PM
ron gijzen is offline
Find More Posts by ron gijzen
Registered User
ron gijzen's Avatar
Grade is fine, but 2mm seems a bit thick, especially for what I expect is a narrow chord and a thin airfoil. I would suggest 1.5mm or 1.2mm.
Old Feb 26, 2013, 08:36 PM
BernieV is offline
Find More Posts by BernieV
Registered User
Ron,

Thanks for the input.

The chord on a Q500 wing would be constant at 9 7/8" for a 50" span at 12% thickness.

The chord on a Q40 wing would taper from about 10" root to 5" tip for a 56" span at about 10% thickness.

Using a thickness less than 2 mm might be good. I did not know if it came in fractional mm thicknesses.
Last edited by BernieV; Feb 26, 2013 at 08:39 PM. Reason: More information.
Old Feb 27, 2013, 12:16 AM
Troy is offline
Find More Posts by Troy
Caution:Makes sharp left turns
Troy's Avatar
Some good info in this thread for Q500 wings:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1510311
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 27, 2013, 11:18 AM
tom43004 is offline
Find More Posts by tom43004
Father of Fr3aK, DLG Pilot
tom43004's Avatar
You can get Rohacell in any thickness down to .75mm, and typically tolerances are +/-.3mm

I would not use anything other than IGF grade Rohacell for laminating skins without using foaming agent in the epoxy.

51IGF in 1.5mm thickness would probably be my choice for a Q500 wing. You could make many other options work though.
Old Feb 28, 2013, 07:58 PM
BernieV is offline
Find More Posts by BernieV
Registered User
Troy & Tom,

Thanks for the help.
Old Feb 28, 2013, 09:27 PM
r140racer is offline
Find More Posts by r140racer
Registered User
1.5mm is what I use in my R-200 Quickie racer and is also what is used in the Vortex. Product worked great but is harder to work with than balsa. I am now back to balsa.
Randy Etken
Q500Racing.com
Old Mar 01, 2013, 07:04 PM
BernieV is offline
Find More Posts by BernieV
Registered User
Randy, thanks for the comment, why do you find it harder to work with than balsa?
Old Mar 02, 2013, 08:39 AM
r140racer is offline
Find More Posts by r140racer
Registered User
You have to add material to make the balsa or rohacell to get to 52 inches. Balsa much easier. The 3/4 fiberglass and carbon fiber that you epoxy over the balsa or rohacell, much easier to do with balsa. Harder to get it to lay down on rohacell.
Makes the build slower. You get about the same hanger damage with both but the rohacell is close to 1 oz lighter with my wing.
Randy Etken
Q500Racing.com


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rohacell 31 1mm 5mm Traian Composites Fabrication 9 Jan 22, 2013 07:57 PM
Discussion What mode do you use? pilotavery Radios 28 Jan 14, 2013 05:44 PM
For Sale Orion F3K DLG - D-Box, Disser with Rohacell! Ekspert5 Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 0 Jan 10, 2013 11:08 AM
Discussion Rohacell Sizes/Grades in Moldies flyboypeter Hand Launch 7 Jun 04, 2010 08:16 AM