FAQ - Powerlab Quick Start Guide - Wiring modes, Supply Limits and 1s charging - Page 5 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by Gregor99, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Apr 22, 2016, 02:00 PM
What Goes Up...Must Come Down
abjets's Avatar

DUAL MPA Boards and 10XP charger QUESTION


Finally all wiring and adaptors made/purchased for my dual MPA board set up... (10XP)
I have the capability of daisy chaining them or running each board off a separate channel as pictured.

Other than being limited to 5S LiPo's or less (not a problem for me at the moment) with the 2 channel set up...is there any benefit of doing one vs. the other as far as charge time and quality/safety? And does it look like they are wired appropriately for each?
Anyone running this set up?
Thanks in advance!!
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Mar 20, 2017, 07:54 PM
Registered User
I bought the PL8, MPA board, computer interface, power cord, etc. No matter what I do, following the instructions religiously, I keep getting a cell count failure.

Later: I decided to power the PL8 with a battery instead of the power supply I had been using. Success! Apparently the 400 mV of ripple on the power supply output is too much for the PL8 to handle. Looks like I'll have to get a power supply with a cleaner output.

CR
Mar 20, 2017, 08:22 PM
Registered User
ggcrandall1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charley38
I bought the PL8, MPA board, computer interface, power cord, etc. No matter what I do, following the instructions religiously, I keep getting a cell count failure.

Later: I decided to power the PL8 with a battery instead of the power supply I had been using. Success! Apparently the 400 mV of ripple on the power supply output is too much for the PL8 to handle. Looks like I'll have to get a power supply with a cleaner output.

CR
Give this guy a call. Good product and great service.
http://www.lipoconnectionsolutions.c...upplies_c2.htm

Glen
Mar 21, 2017, 03:44 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggcrandall1
Give this guy a call. Good product and great service.
http://www.lipoconnectionsolutions.c...upplies_c2.htm

Glen
Thanks for the link. He had just what I wanted, already made up.

CR
Jun 07, 2017, 01:48 PM
Gasoline

Is banana cable a must for charging.


I have a PL8v2 charger and want to charge my LiFePO4 via balance leads only. The PL8v2 manual describes the configuration that uses balance leads only for charging without connecting the main package leads.

But the software does not allow me to charge via balance lead. The software says that bananas must be used (picture attached). How do i charge via balance leads.

My charger is set for XH wiring mode and has a MPA board.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks
Jun 07, 2017, 10:21 PM
Registered User
ggcrandall1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rohan_mcrcf
I have a PL8v2 charger and want to charge my LiFePO4 via balance leads only. The PL8v2 manual describes the configuration that uses balance leads only for charging without connecting the main package leads.

But the software does not allow me to charge via balance lead. The software says that bananas must be used (picture attached). How do i charge via balance leads.

My charger is set for XH wiring mode and has a MPA board.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks
What preset are you using?

Glen
Jun 08, 2017, 12:41 AM
Registered User
muscleflex's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rohan_mcrcf
I have a PL8v2 charger and want to charge my LiFePO4 via balance leads only. The PL8v2 manual describes the configuration that uses balance leads only for charging without connecting the main package leads.

But the software does not allow me to charge via balance lead. The software says that bananas must be used (picture attached). How do i charge via balance leads.

My charger is set for XH wiring mode and has a MPA board.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks
I'm interested to know as well. It won't let me charge using just balance leads. Preset 1. Or any presets installed on the charger.
Jun 09, 2017, 12:48 PM
Gasoline
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggcrandall1
What preset are you using?

Glen

I am using A123 accurate charging built in setting.

What i have read is that balance port charging is possible only in FMA wiring mode. (I know longer can find the source now)
Jun 09, 2017, 06:54 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rohan_mcrcf
I am using A123 accurate charging built in setting.

What i have read is that balance port charging is possible only in FMA wiring mode. (I know longer can find the source now)
Yes, that's true.

How many cells in series are you using?
May 17, 2018, 06:17 PM
Registered User
3flyguy3's Avatar

Sply < Low Limit Push to reset


I'm getting Sply < Low Limit Push to Reset. Attached is my configuration and power supply

These are 1S 600mAh 3.7V

I notice the red light doesn't come on until I connect the one lipo as shown. Not sure if that matters or not. I'm trying to charge at 1C. I don't know what other info you need to help.

Thanks in advance.

Edit: I found the manual. If I'm reading correctly it's saying my power supply is too low. I'm not sure if that's correct. If so, I'm wondering why. Granted I haven't used my this charger in awhile but I recall the last time I used it it worked fine and I changed nothing since. Is this an issue of the power supply?
Last edited by 3flyguy3; May 17, 2018 at 06:30 PM.
May 17, 2018, 07:46 PM
Registered User
ggcrandall1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3flyguy3
I'm getting Sply < Low Limit Push to Reset. Attached is my configuration and power supply

These are 1S 600mAh 3.7V

How many batteries? You don't show the whole adapter. I count 6 but are there more?

I notice the red light doesn't come on until I connect the one lipo as shown. Not sure if that matters or not. I'm trying to charge at 1C. I don't know what other info you need to help.

If you are asking about the red light on the parallel adapter, yes it only comes on if a battery is connected.
Well for one what are the specs of the power supply (voltage and max current)? Then did you measure the voltage while it is connected and every thing powered up to verify that the voltage really is low?
At what point in the process do you get the error? Before you connect any batteries, after batteries are connected but before you start the charge, after the charge is started, how long after the charge starts, etc.
At what current are you charging? Do you set the current specifically or do you use the "1C" charge current option?


Thanks in advance.

Edit: I found the manual. If I'm reading correctly it's saying my power supply is too low. I'm not sure if that's correct. If so, I'm wondering why. Granted I haven't used my this charger in awhile but I recall the last time I used it it worked fine and I changed nothing since. Is this an issue of the power supply?
When you pose a question you must supply all the conditions, else, the answers you get are pure speculation

Glen
May 18, 2018, 10:55 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3flyguy3
I'm getting Sply < Low Limit Push to Reset. Attached is my configuration and power supply

These are 1S 600mAh 3.7V
How many of them do you have hooked up at once? I count six in one pic, three in another pic. Are there 6 or 9 all at once?

What is the power supply's out put voltage and amperage rating?

Quote:
Edit: I found the manual. If I'm reading correctly it's saying my power supply is too low. I'm not sure if that's correct. If so, I'm wondering why. Granted I haven't used my this charger in awhile but I recall the last time I used it it worked fine and I changed nothing since. Is this an issue of the power supply?
Yes the charger is telling you the power supply's voltage is below the low limit. IOW, you've overloaded it. If you have 6 batts connected you're asking the PS for 3.6 Amps into the batts. If you have 9, it's 5.4 Amps. Keep in mind the charger itself uses some Amps too.

CR
May 18, 2018, 12:22 PM
Registered User
3flyguy3's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggcrandall1
When you pose a question you must supply all the conditions, else, the answers you get are pure speculation

Glen
I didn't know all the necessary conditions to supply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charley38
How many of them do you have hooked up at once? I count six in one pic, three in another pic. Are there 6 or 9 all at once?


What is the power supply's out put voltage and amperage rating?


Yes the charger is telling you the power supply's voltage is below the low limit. IOW, you've overloaded it. If you have 6 batts connected you're asking the PS for 3.6 Amps into the batts. If you have 9, it's 5.4 Amps. Keep in mind the charger itself uses some Amps too.

CR
There are 6 1S lipos. I'm not sure which pic shows only 3, sorry. The last pic of the single lipo was just to show how the charge cable is wired.

How could I have overloaded it? What would cause that? (This isn't my space so sorry if these questions seem elementary.)

I got the power supply years ago. I've been able to charge up to (6) 4S 2600mAh 30C at 3C with no problem. So the power supply has been sufficient (sorry I don't remember the specs right offhand). I haven't used the charger in quite a few months and honestly forgot how to use it for a minute.

But after checking connections and what not, I got different errors at different times. First as mentioned I got the "Sply < Low limit". Then I got "Un-Bal only." So I unplugged the balance. It started to charge. Then I got "Replace bad pack". And lastly when I finally did get it to charge I got "Pack removed" at the end of the charge cycle.

Please let me know if I need more info. Like I said I'm not sure what to provide. I don't know what I don't know.

Thanks for the help.
May 18, 2018, 01:03 PM
Registered User
ggcrandall1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3flyguy3
I didn't know all the necessary conditions to supply.

When in doubt you tell it all. For instance:
The specs on the power supply
The specs on the battery(s)
The number of battery(s)
The state of each battery (measured with a volt meter)
The name of the charger
The Parameters set into the charger
The description of the connections (parallel, series, adapter board, etc)
The actual voltage coming from the power supply (measured with a volt meter)


There are 6 1S lipos. I'm not sure which pic shows only 3, sorry. The last pic of the single lipo was just to show how the charge cable is wired.

How could I have overloaded it? What would cause that? (This isn't my space so sorry if these questions seem elementary.)

I don't know but that's why I asked all those questions up front.

I got the power supply years ago. I've been able to charge up to (6) 4S 2600mAh 30C at 3C with no problem. So the power supply has been sufficient (sorry I don't remember the specs right offhand). I haven't used the charger in quite a few months and honestly forgot how to use it for a minute.

What it was doing a few months ago isn't relevant. It could have gone bad in that time.

But after checking connections and what not, I got different errors at different times. First as mentioned I got the "Sply < Low limit". Then I got "Un-Bal only." So I unplugged the balance. It started to charge. Then I got "Replace bad pack". And lastly when I finally did get it to charge I got "Pack removed" at the end of the charge cycle.

With conditions changing I would speculate that you have a bad connection somewhere. I recommend you use an electronic contact cleaner and clean all the connectors (pins/sockets).

Please let me know if I need more info. Like I said I'm not sure what to provide. I don't know what I don't know.

You know, or should, know all the specs of your equipment and certainly what you have done and in which order.

Thanks for the help.
This is the contact cleaner I use.
https://www.amazon.com/CAIG-D5S-6-Co...ords=deoxit+d5

Glen
May 18, 2018, 05:02 PM
Registered User
3flyguy3's Avatar
Thanks. Never dawned on me that the equipment could've just gone bad while sitting.
Power supply: 47A 12v/24v 575W/1150W (max)
Lipos: (6) 1S 600mAh 3.7v
Charger: Cellpro PL6
Charger parameters: I tried Fast Chg preset and prior preset I had for 1S (charge at 1C)
Connections: parallel
Voltage: no volt meter I guess I need to invest in more equipment (volt meter).


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! 1S charging lead Assassin-8 Batteries and Chargers 7 Jan 11, 2013 02:41 PM
Mini-HowTo TP-610C Quick Start Guide marc1 Batteries and Chargers 15 Dec 10, 2011 11:12 PM
Discussion FlyCamOne2 Quick Start Guide. Easy to follow. gdavis9999 Aerial Photography 2 Jan 06, 2009 01:04 AM