New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jul 13, 2013, 01:55 PM
Tahoe Ed is online now
Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
DJI Support
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by daskim View Post
No problem with flyaways?

it would definitely be user error in his case.
Site Sponsor
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 13, 2013, 04:33 PM
ariZedA is offline
Find More Posts by ariZedA
Registered User
What do you guys think of something like this to protect casing?

It's just a vinyl sticker.

Old Jul 13, 2013, 04:44 PM
Tahoe Ed is online now
Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
DJI Support
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
Nice camo.
Site Sponsor
Old Jul 13, 2013, 04:52 PM
Photoship One is offline
Find More Posts by Photoship One
by Alary Design
Photoship One's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoe Ed View Post
Nice camo.
I know... I can't see it. What did he post?
Old Jul 13, 2013, 05:05 PM
HGT is offline
HGT
Find More Posts by HGT
HGT
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by aae55555 View Post
What do you guys think of something like this to protect casing?

It's just a vinyl sticker.

It's not the outer housing most are concerned with. The Hero3 has made the lens replacement difficult and expensive.
Old Jul 13, 2013, 05:13 PM
Bravia3D is offline
Find More Posts by Bravia3D
Registered User
I was thinking one could use an iPhone polarizer film. Just cut it into a circle maybe and place it upon the lens.
Old Jul 13, 2013, 05:17 PM
Bravia3D is offline
Find More Posts by Bravia3D
Registered User
If one were to fly using the GoPro WiFi app that would interfere with the Phantom wouldn't it? I wish DJI would release an app to view.
Old Jul 13, 2013, 06:47 PM
Photoship One is offline
Find More Posts by Photoship One
by Alary Design
Photoship One's Avatar
Here's video from a flight this morning with the H3-2D mounted to an airplane. Two cameras used. One was hard mounted next to the H3-2D to show the effectiveness of the H3-2D stabilization.

Overall I am impressed! The vibration isolation on the H3-2D compared to the hard mounted camera works very well. There are certain power settings that the airplane has some vibration that makes it's way to the H3-2D and the isolators didn't quite keep up with but perhaps a softer set of isolators and another test are in order... even so, the vibration was extremely minimal and only very occasionally.

As for the stabilization of the H3-2D. Poor man's Cineflex that fits in the palm of your hand.

I hit a top airspeed of around 120mph and the H3-2D has no issues in that amount of direct wind. It just sat there in the breeze fat dumb and happy to do it's job.

We'll plan to offer a mounting solution to any of you with jury strut equipped airplanes who want to have a go at it.

Enjoy!

H3-2D Zenmuse on Airplane (5 min 15 sec)
Old Jul 13, 2013, 06:55 PM
HGT is offline
HGT
Find More Posts by HGT
HGT
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photoship One View Post
Awesome... I would not have guessed it would be that nice. It's great when it catches the prop at the same frequency...
Old Jul 13, 2013, 06:59 PM
Bravia3D is offline
Find More Posts by Bravia3D
Registered User
Amazing!
Old Jul 13, 2013, 07:11 PM
edunwody is offline
Find More Posts by edunwody
Registered User
edunwody's Avatar
Impressive. Thumbs up!
Old Jul 13, 2013, 07:33 PM
Cicada is offline
Find More Posts by Cicada
Registered User
Got mine installed last night in my Phantom, it was a very tight fit. A couple of things I noticed that I'm unsure about. It takes much longer to acquire all the satellites now. I wonder if something is scrunched in there. Very far in to one of my test flights the gimbal went limp. Landing and cycling power seemed to have rectified the situation, is it possible the components were getting warm in there? I positioned the PMU and Zenmuse opposite each other and towards the rear and they're kind of close to the ESC's.

I have not done this yet but considering, will attaching the GoPro to FPV Tx cable throw off the balance? Should I utilize the downlink cable?

Should I leave a USB micro cable plugged into the Zenmuse and accessible to allow for updates to keep from cracking the case open again?

And finally, apologies for an unsearched question, is the GoPro getting power from the Gimbal and charging its battery while in use? Should I always start off with a fully charged GoPro battery?

Thanks
Last edited by Cicada; Jul 13, 2013 at 09:32 PM.
Old Jul 13, 2013, 07:44 PM
kazkioken is online now
Find More Posts by kazkioken
Registered User

Weight Zenmuse vs. Arris


For some reason (probably being on this forum lol) I decided to get a scale and weighed my Arris vs the Zenmuse. Both are using everything they need including a Hero3. On the Zenmuse I am including the PMU as well since that is necessary - if and when the replacement boards come you can save a good 28 grams. I am sure I could nip and tuck some grams here and there by shortening some cabling on the Zenmuse but as it is now it does all inclusive weigh a tiny bit more than the Arris.

That all being said a lot of that weight is central and inside the Phantom body rather than toward the nose of the craft. Can't wait to get it all installed it looks really well made, mine has no finish issues and looks brand new.
Old Jul 13, 2013, 07:53 PM
FilmicFlyer is offline
Find More Posts by FilmicFlyer
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photoship One View Post
We'll plan to offer a mounting solution to any of you with jury strut equipped airplanes who want to have a go at it.
https://vimeo.com/70256934
Mr. P. Ship the 1st,

If you're already selling the components, how bout a general package with everything you need in order to just unscrew the zenmuse from phantom (cage w/ handles & trays, Naza2, spare GCU, etc) and then operate handheld or aircraft mounted?

I'll pre-order Limiting the number of times we open up our phantoms and tug on cables is a good idea.

Also, you probably know all this better than I, but I'm guessing for most of us on full scale, the most common location would be suspended directly beneath a larger single strut.

P.S.: Thanks for being the test pilot for us!
Old Jul 13, 2013, 07:59 PM
daskim is offline
Find More Posts by daskim
Videographer/Product Reviews
daskim's Avatar
So for a handheld, you need Naza-M, PMU, gimbal control unit, Zenmuse, and battery. GoPro3 of course.

Apart from H3-2D, it runs about $200+$65.00+GCU+battery. Imagine the GCU should eventually be available separately.

Probably a total of less than $400.00 plus whatever assembly configuration.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DJI Zenmuse 3-axis gimbal sidneyw Multirotor Talk 5888 Oct 11, 2016 09:00 PM
Discussion DJI Zenmuse gimbal for Gopro piccoloflyer Multirotor Talk 29 Jul 22, 2013 06:42 AM
Discussion Best 2 axis Gimbal for DJI 450/GoPro? FixedWing172 Aerial Photography 3 Jan 11, 2013 05:39 PM
Discussion Another DJI Zenmuse Z15 Gimbal thread skivvie Multirotor Talk 5 Aug 03, 2012 04:00 AM
Discussion DJI Zenmuse Z15n Gimbal thread. UAVProducts Multirotor Talk 277 Jun 05, 2012 07:40 AM