Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Jul 11, 2013, 04:45 PM
...
Last edited by flitelab; Jul 11, 2013 at 06:21 PM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jul 11, 2013, 04:53 PM
Registered User
Well, kinda a let down.... GoPro needs some protection on the Zenmuse. Flying it naked like that is a bit scary. If DJI turns around and releases some kinda lens protector I will be pissed
Jul 11, 2013, 04:55 PM
Habitual Freeloader
badbill's Avatar
Well, Here's my video. In many instances, I was banging the sticks stop to stop and sometimes you can't even tell. This thing is awesome!

Bill Davenport
AMA 28141

Zenmuse H3-2D Torture Test GoPro 3 Black 1080/30/M (6 min 27 sec)
Jul 11, 2013, 04:57 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfr2000 View Post
Well I am sorry to report that my own experience thus far has not been good. I received my gimbal yesterday and installed it last night and it is not working, and I have not yet updated to 3.14, still on 3.12 here.

Not sure what is wrong but after the gimbal failed to initialize, I opened up my phantom, checked all wiring, connections, etc., and everything there seems correct. The gimbal appears to be getting power and I am hearing some noise coming from the motors but it is not doing what it is supposed to do.

I know I have a low post count here and some might think I don't know what I am doing here but I have had considerable past experience in working with electronic gear and started off my career doing digital circuit pack repair and troubleshooting for AT&T for a couple of years. Before working on my phantom Iast night I also replaced the power supply filter caps in an old Cerwin Vega subwoofer I have that had developed a nasty buzz, if that gives some idea of my experience level with electronics.

One thing I am noticing is that the GCU appears to have a small LED next to the port where the gimbal cable is plugged in, but it does not light up when the battery is connected. Is it supposed to? In any case, I think I am going to have
to send mine back, will be calling Dronefly later this morning.
Well for what it's worth, I found my problem and fixed it, and there was nothing wrong with the gimbal. I contacted my dealer for support and they suggested upgrading to 3.14. When I did that I discovered that I had an IMU initialization failure due to the z axis on the accelerometer being stuck. Keep in mind that I had not actually attempted to fly and was just checking out the gimbal and I didn't really look at the LED codes and I just presumed that when it didn't work right off the bat, it was a wiring or connection issue. But last time I'd flown I had a minor crash into some hedges and I guess that was enough to put the IMU out of whack. I did the old trick of removing the NAZA and banging on my desk and it is working again, and the gimbal is now working. Now I just have to put everything back together.
Jul 11, 2013, 05:02 PM
Registered User
Zenmuse Flight Test 2 (7 min 25 sec)


Here is another flight I did yesterday morning. I can't stand when the GoPro faces the sun that the image gets so dark looking. Really does need a filter. I live near the train station and soccer field where they hold local and national soccer games here in Japan. Many famous teams have played here!

Yes, at the 5.45 mark that is my goofy ass checking the GoPro recording time.
Jul 11, 2013, 05:04 PM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bravia3D View Post
Well, kinda a let down.... GoPro needs some protection on the Zenmuse. Flying it naked like that is a bit scary. If DJI turns around and releases some kinda lens protector I will be pissed
Well I ordered this don't know what affect it will have but I'm going to try it doesn't hardly weigh anything!

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Jul 11, 2013, 05:09 PM
Videographer/Product Reviews
daskim's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bravia3D View Post

Here is another flight I did yesterday morning. I can't stand when the GoPro faces the sun that the image gets so dark looking. Really does need a filter.
What it needs is manual iris control.

- - david
Jul 11, 2013, 05:10 PM
Registered User
photoboi, problem is you will not be able to use the GoPro attachment holder which will hold the cam onto the Zenmuse. The lens will get in the way. I have tried something like that already using a circular rubber piece and filter hooked on. If you use the attachment then put on the lens cover a bit, the edged will be in the video.
Jul 11, 2013, 05:17 PM
HGT
HGT
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bravia3D View Post
It's such a small noise I am not even sure my cam could pick it up.
Ok... That's what I was getting at. There is always a pulse going to the motors as they need to stay in position.
Jul 11, 2013, 05:18 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by daskim View Post
What it needs is manual iris control.

- - david
Yes indeed, that would be nice.
Jul 11, 2013, 05:19 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by HighGainTuning View Post
Ok... That's what I was getting at. There is always a pulse going to the motors as they need to stay in position.
Good to know, as it has been working amazingly I didn't think anything was wrong. Hopefully it always continues to work
Jul 11, 2013, 05:20 PM
HGT
HGT
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bravia3D View Post
Well, kinda a let down.... GoPro needs some protection on the Zenmuse. Flying it naked like that is a bit scary. If DJI turns around and releases some kinda lens protector I will be pissed
I agree but if they do they will surely add a firmware upgrade for it.
Jul 11, 2013, 05:20 PM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bravia3D View Post
photoboi, problem is you will not be able to use the GoPro attachment holder which will hold the cam onto the Zenmuse. The lens will get in the way. I have tried something like that already using a circular rubber piece and filter hooked on. If you use the attachment then put on the lens cover a bit, the edged will be in the video.
It should fit with no issues as the little bar will fit next to it with no problems. see pic
Last edited by photoboi; Jul 23, 2013 at 09:14 PM.
Jul 11, 2013, 05:21 PM
HGT
HGT
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by photoboi View Post
Well I ordered this don't know what affect it will have but I'm going to try it doesn't hardly weigh anything!

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Yes it will affect it and by posting that here you have clearly voided any warranty if you use it. Good Luck

Last edited by HGT; Jul 11, 2013 at 05:32 PM.
Jul 11, 2013, 05:30 PM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by HighGainTuning View Post
Yes it will affect it and by posting that here you have clearly voided any warranty if you use it. Good Luck

Do you wana know how many warranty's I have voided in my life LOL
Are you the warranty police?
And I guess the small yellow pin strip I have on my gopro will void it as well?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DJI Zenmuse 3-axis gimbal sidneyw Multirotor Drone Talk 5888 Oct 11, 2016 08:00 PM
Discussion DJI Zenmuse gimbal for Gopro piccoloflyer Multirotor Drone Talk 29 Jul 22, 2013 05:42 AM
Discussion Best 2 axis Gimbal for DJI 450/GoPro? FixedWing172 Aerial Photography 3 Jan 11, 2013 04:39 PM
Discussion Another DJI Zenmuse Z15 Gimbal thread skivvie Multirotor Drone Talk 5 Aug 03, 2012 03:00 AM
Discussion DJI Zenmuse Z15n Gimbal thread. UAVProducts Multirotor Drone Talk 277 Jun 05, 2012 06:40 AM