Feb 14, 2013, 11:31 PM
I review RC Products
Thread OP
Discussion

My recommendations for RC plane beginners

Hi all!

This thread contains information I learned the hard way over the past two years or so. I am no expert, but it wasn't that long ago that I was just a beginner like you.

This is the plane that I suggest you start off with. It is only $89 for everything you need and it stays fun for a long time. The best part is that you don't need a big area to fly it in and it is very easy to transport: http://www.horizonhobby.com/products/champ-rtf-HBZ4900

Here is an example of me flying mine in the wind with some bloopers:
Hobbyzone Champ Trainer RC Plane on Windy Day with Bloopers (2 min 20 sec)

Here it is in a little wider open space:
Hobbyzone Champ Ultra Micro Trainer RC Plane at Bender Field in Lynden, WA (2 min 18 sec)

There are other trainers out there, but this is the least expensive and best way to learn IMHO due to its price and light weight. Less mass means less destructive damage. It does mean that it will get blown around in the wind more than a larger plane, but no planes should be flown in the wind by a beginner anyhow. I do suggest flying only over grass during your first few flights in a wide open area. The grass is far more forgiving than pavement is when you crash and if the area is wide open, there is no chance to crash into a tree if it gets away from you.

Here is something I recommend you watch before you fly your Champ. It shows you have to tame the controls a little bit for easier learning. It is also useful for when trying to learn on the UM T-28:
HobbyZone Champ Tranmitter High & Low Rates (1 min 20 sec)

This plane is another proven trainer with a long track record. Aside from the ACT System (Not to be confused with the SAFE System found in the newer version of this plane) this is a great option for those that want to fly a larger plane right out of the box: