Thread Tools
Old Dec 27, 2003, 11:44 PM
dru is offline
dru
Find More Posts by dru
dru
Registered User
Cool

Brushless motor and single conversion Rx


I tried to search on this but only got info on brushed motors.

Do brushless motors put out any more or less RF noise compared to a brushed motor? I would like to know because I am going to return a couple of my Christmas prizes on Monday and get my first brushless motor and ESC. It will be going in my 27 inch foamie Edge with a single conv Rx and am a little worried about doing a figure 9 landing because of lock out.

Thanks.

Dru.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 27, 2003, 11:44 PM
dru is offline
dru
Find More Posts by dru
dru
Registered User

Brushless motor and single conversion Rx


I tried to search on this but only got info on brushed motors.

Do brushless motors put out any more or less RF noise compared to a brushed motor? I would like to know because I am going to return a couple of my Christmas prizes on Monday and get my first brushless motor and ESC. It will be going in my 27 inch foamie Edge with a single conv Rx and am a little worried about doing a figure 9 landing because of lock out.

Thanks.

Dru.
Old Dec 28, 2003, 12:19 AM
sguty is offline
Find More Posts by sguty
Senior Member
sguty's Avatar
Traditional wisdom says the brushes and commutators on a brushed motor put out a lot of RFI. I've found I needed to create a rough simulation of a Faraday cage on brushless planes with long leads to the motor and/or long servo leads (e.g., EDFs) by wrapping the wires in Al foil--doubled the range-check distances with the motor on.

Steve Guty
Old Dec 28, 2003, 01:14 AM
mark_q is online now
Find More Posts by mark_q
KG7TTQ - Las Vegas
mark_q's Avatar
It has been my experience there is far less RF created in brushless set-ups. No brushes means no sparks, a large source of electrical noise. I am running JR600 rx, Berg 5DSP rx and Hi-Tech Electron 6 rx in my planes and I have NEVER had any glitching or subsequent electrical noise. In all cases I am using Castle Creations Pheonix controllers.

I think your safe - Mark
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 28, 2003, 01:25 AM
boomerace is offline
Find More Posts by boomerace
Been There! Done That!
boomerace's Avatar
I run single conversion all the time on my brushless motors with no problem! The motor is not the problem but you can get glitches from outside interference that a dual conversion might filter out. I've had a few hits generally without carnage. However it was while I was flying in a area under construction with a lot of 2 way radios in use.
boomer
Old Dec 28, 2003, 04:17 AM
mmormota is online now
Find More Posts by mmormota
Registered User
mmormota's Avatar
I run brushless motors and single conversion receivers without problems too.

"Single conversion" does not mean "low quality", there are better and not so good single conversion receivers too.
I have Jeti Rex5+ and Schulze single conversion receivers. I did a range check test with the ACT SmartScan double conversion receiver and the above two.
I found the Schulze to be the best, useful distance in the percentage of the Schulze: ACT 70%, Rex5 30%

(It was a simple test, the 3 receivers are switched on same time, servos on the outputs. One guy is observing the servos, the other is walking away with a closed antenna transmitter. Range is ok if it is possible to control the servos, and errenous movements are not too high...)
Old Dec 28, 2003, 07:41 AM
Andy W is offline
Find More Posts by Andy W
Registered User
Andy W's Avatar
Less, as posted, but depending on the particular Rx and where you fly, I would consider returning your SC receiver and get a dual conversion, or at least a good DSP Rx (i.e. Berg), instead..
..a
Old Dec 28, 2003, 09:01 AM
Fantam is offline
Find More Posts by Fantam
Go Leafs Go!
Fantam's Avatar
I am using a GWS Naro receiver (single conversion) on a Formosa with a Mpjet brushless motor. I have never had a glitch and I sometimes let it get pretty far away too. It's so fast that it's hard not too.
Old Dec 28, 2003, 10:50 AM
dru is offline
dru
Find More Posts by dru
dru
Registered User
I have 3 Cirrus MXR4's, 1 Dymond micro Rx, 2 Hitec Feathers. Where I fly is out in the middle of no where. I am about 70 miles east of San Diego so I have only 1 neighbor. I fly my glow planes without a glitch. They all have dual Rx's. The 4 Electron 6 Rx's I have have work very well.

I don't worry to much about a glitch when I have a $15.00 motor gear box on the nose. It is that I am now flying with a $100 brushless motor ESC combo and I am not made of money.

As money and time make it possable I am going to start to replace the Single conv Rx's with dual ones.

Dru.
Old Dec 28, 2003, 06:35 PM
Chuck is offline
Find More Posts by Chuck
Balsa to the Wall
Chuck's Avatar
I use Berg-5 rx's with my BL motors and have never had a glitch.



Chuck


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New CD-Rom Brushless Motor Company Conversion Motor Works T_Hill Product Announcements 10 Jun 05, 2004 06:03 PM
Alert Help Me Find Special Single Conversion Rx JimHSoars Radios 5 Dec 29, 2003 05:03 PM
CH 46 GWS single conversion Rx crystal (micro) jbutkovci Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Sep 13, 2003 08:37 AM
CH 46 GWS single conversion Rx crystal jbutkovci Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 12, 2003 09:02 PM