Jan 31, 2013, 07:41 PM
Thread OP
Build Log

Hammer 2.4 - by Blejzyk from Aloft Hobbies

This is my first build log... The intent is that actually finish it unlike so many other half-built or still-in-box planes. I realized I spend waaaaay toooooo much time browsing RCGroups instead of building, so this way when I see my own thread dying it'll be a reminder to go back and post some updates. I purchased this model at http://www.alofthobbies.com/hammer.html

Currently I have the ruddervator servos mounted and drying in the inner nose cone - I dremeled out a hole and used 3M 5200 to hold them down. I realized that while I wanted the strength of epoxy that the occasional bad landing will cause that type of mount to crack - so my hope is that the 5200 has enough resiliency to give a little but doesn't flex with load. We shall see. Photos coming soon.

I decided to stain the top of the wood - I have not made up my mind about the bottom. Beginning with the V-Tail I used a pre-stain that claims to make the real stain less blotchy. Then I used a stain from some Heywood Wakefield chairs I restored ("Wheat" - http://werefinish.com/heywood_wakefi...nishing_ki.htm) - I'm really liking the look, though I anticipate I will be using a glossy clear-coat spray to finish.
Last edited by macinr; Jan 31, 2013 at 11:59 PM. Reason: corrected URL
to remove ads between posts
Jan 31, 2013, 08:59 PM
Thread OP
On the wings I have pulled servo cables for the flap and aileron servos - will likely hardwire the servos and use a mini deans at the wing joint as it's a two part wing. For size comparison you can see the difference between the Hammer and the Elf. Servo holes are pre-cut on the Hammer.

Also - I mistakingly did not put tape on the glass before I started dremeling away - and then for some strange reason my arms itched for the rest of the night... HMMM....
Jan 31, 2013, 10:47 PM