Jan 30, 2013, 05:35 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Anyone else curious about the "5.8 GHz SpiroNET Patch Antenna"?

This'n.

I was poking around RMRC, getting close to ordering the Circular Wireless long range combo, when I happen upon what seems to be a new patch from SpiroNET. Never used their antennas myself but I know that their SPW antennas were a big hit for Fatshark users. It also appears to be the only other RHCP antenna with a dBi rating comparable to the HELIAXIAL58.

I'm no expert, but could this mean the Heliaxial has competition?
to remove ads between posts
Jan 30, 2013, 08:20 AM
I was in the position to test this new RHCP Immersion 5.8 Spiro Patch antenna last year.
As I have also the Circular Wireless Sircana 5.8 Helical and some higher gain Helicals.
( 12 turns 1: 1.2 SWR tuned).
This new Immersion Patch antenna is better compared to all the Helicals I have.
I use/tested several times the antenna on IRC tracker and Uno (V1). VTX is 600mW 5.8 IRC. ( with Spiro SPW on VTX)
Distance I have flown is r.a. 10 km at 500 mtr att. with good flyable video.
Test location is in the Netherlands ( always radio towers relatively nearby).

Anyway... very good Circular Patch... small, light and easy to use.
Very happy with it !!

Here you can see results of test with 25mW VTX
1.6km on IRC 25mW TX and nexwaverf receiver (5 min 45 sec)

and some more info
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Immers...type=1&theater
Last edited by jacq1954; Jan 30, 2013 at 08:29 AM.
Jan 30, 2013, 04:29 PM
Thread OP
Wow, very nice... Glad I held off on buying the CW Helical.
Jan 30, 2013, 05:06 PM
How do these compare to the crosshair?
Jan 30, 2013, 06:38 PM
Member #1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacq1954
I was in the position to test this new RHCP Immersion 5.8 Spiro Patch antenna last year.
As I have also the Circular Wireless Sircana 5.8 Helical and some higher gain Helicals.
( 12 turns 1: 1.2 SWR tuned).
This new Immersion Patch antenna is better compared to all the Helicals I have.