Compufoil - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Jan 29, 2013, 02:05 PM
Registered User
ian murdock's Avatar
Help!

Compufoil


Hi guys, I'm trying to transfer foam templates into inventor or auto cad to make a wing. Question is there a detailed out line on how to do this process? I'm trying to create G code.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jan 29, 2013, 02:24 PM
Slopeaholic
Hutch's Avatar
You can export to DXF if you purchased that module. You should be able to play with it all you want in CAD after that. There is also a gen CNC function, but I haven't used it so I cant help you there.

-hutch
Jan 29, 2013, 02:32 PM
Registered User
ian murdock's Avatar
Now one thing I'm haveing to do to be able to play with it is move the file to another computer, is that possable?
Jan 29, 2013, 03:35 PM
Slopeaholic
Hutch's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ian murdock
Now one thing I'm haveing to do to be able to play with it is move the file to another computer, is that possable?
Toss it on a thumb drive or e-mail it to yourself and you should be set in that department!

-hutch
Jan 29, 2013, 07:15 PM
Registered User
ian murdock's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hutch
Toss it on a thumb drive or e-mail it to yourself and you should be set in that department!

-hutch
Thanks man I'll try that. Let you know how it goes.
Feb 05, 2013, 01:22 PM
Registered User
ian murdock's Avatar
Hi guys. Next question for you, can I make a dwg. file? If so how?
Feb 05, 2013, 02:27 PM
Slopeaholic
Hutch's Avatar
I believe it will only export to DXF. But if you need it in DWG and don't have access to Autocad there are some free conversion programs out there.

Or you could send me the DXF and I can convert it for you.

-hutch
Feb 09, 2013, 10:12 AM
Registered User
ian murdock's Avatar
Okay guys, I tried the DWG. and the DXF. to no a-vale in CAD. I can see the foil and move the foil but doesn't recognize the foil to were I can put a tool path on it. It needs to be an entity. Any help would be great.
Feb 09, 2013, 10:33 AM
Designing something...
Sending you a pm.

Brian
Feb 19, 2013, 04:37 PM
Registered User
ian
what foam cutting program are you using?
a work around if you can see the airfoil in your cad program just trace it then delete the imported filej
don
Feb 19, 2013, 11:39 PM
Registered User
ian murdock's Avatar
I think that is what it is going to come down to Don. Tomorrow night a buddy who is a CAD genies is going to try and help me out.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two Sheeting Thicknesses in Compufoil green66 Electric Plane Talk 4 Feb 27, 2009 01:53 PM
Compufoil Demo Version, what gives? ferradas Hand Launch 2 Feb 04, 2003 02:22 PM
Need CompuFoil Help green66 Modeling Science 4 Jul 19, 2002 07:04 PM
Compufoil question about optimum angle joey221 Power Systems 2 Apr 25, 2002 01:15 PM