Thread Tools
Old Jan 28, 2013, 04:10 AM
rwijnhov is offline
Find More Posts by rwijnhov
Registered User
Will the version for the nex5n be able to handle the nex5n with the 1855 lens?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 28, 2013, 04:14 AM
KKUSA is offline
Find More Posts by KKUSA
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~>Miha<~ View Post
Indeed, and these motors/controllers are amazing. Not sure what is harder for them, to do this (see below) or to get smooth footage from the wobbling junk frame called S-800.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=78zhv8FCo24

BTW, still nobody got an answer to my question re. why these rewinded BL can do almost the same as the Maxons and at so much lower Voltage?
Its not only the motors that allow that kind of control. The controllers have full dynamic motion control capabilities , not just positioning. They have direct to axis feedback as well. Technosoft has some controllers that are capable of that kind of motion control that I have worked with in the past. It really requires some fast DSP capabilities that the AVR just wont do anyway.

With direct axis feedback though, the AVR could get pretty close and it wouldnt matter what crappy frame it was on!!!
Old Jan 28, 2013, 05:25 AM
Hypam is offline
Find More Posts by Hypam
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by KKUSA View Post
Its not only the motors that allow that kind of control. The controllers have full dynamic motion control capabilities , not just positioning. They have direct to axis feedback as well. Technosoft has some controllers that are capable of that kind of motion control that I have worked with in the past. It really requires some fast DSP capabilities that the AVR just wont do anyway.

With direct axis feedback though, the AVR could get pretty close and it wouldnt matter what crappy frame it was on!!!
I think the Maxon Epos controller is the right stuff for this, pretty expensive.
I already asked this before but isnīt this a task for Labview to simulate the hole thing rather than coding at trial and error?
Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:20 AM
DorianJ is offline
Find More Posts by DorianJ
Registered User
DorianJ's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmonty View Post
Good to know! I will have to look into it for my Canon. Though i am thinking of sucking it up and getting a GH3..
You lose in-camera control of focus and iris. These functions are manually controlled from the lens barrel, done like real filmmakers

OK back to direct drive discussion!
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:44 AM
andrebandre is offline
Find More Posts by andrebandre
Registered User
andrebandre's Avatar

Thank you Jussi.
I love the rendering of the gimbal and hopefully it will get into production.
Old Jan 28, 2013, 09:43 AM
Rod Cole is offline
Find More Posts by Rod Cole
Registered User
Rod Cole's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by DorianJ View Post
an picture, no distortion and not too wide Half the weight of the Canon 20mm and IMO a cleaner image.
Of which Nikon 20mm prime are you speaking? The Nikon AI mount or the current G mount. I have several AI mount Nikon primes that I hang on my 5D3 with great results. One thing I really like about these manual focus lenses is the large focusing throw which the new digital lenses do not have. This makes them much more like a real cinema lens except that they focus backwards from cinema lenses. The AI Mount version has the advantage of manual iris which would be my preference.
Old Jan 28, 2013, 10:53 AM
yelmarb is offline
Find More Posts by yelmarb
Registered User
I'm a bit confused by who's making what. Will the controllers be made by the same person/company or by anyone who pays a license fee to Aleksey?

I gather viacopter and flyduino will be selling the controllers separately?

Is e-copter making the gimbals for viacopter and flyduino?

How will you distribute the items around?
Old Jan 28, 2013, 02:20 PM
Daloaf is offline
Find More Posts by Daloaf
SkyHi Aerial
Daloaf's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmonty View Post
Good to know! I will have to look into it for my Canon. Though i am thinking of sucking it up and getting a GH3..
The GH3 looks awesome, but I'm still pissed they made it much larger and heavier (and more expensive). Not as aerial friendly as the GH2 is.
Old Jan 28, 2013, 04:56 PM
vinnygogo is offline
Find More Posts by vinnygogo
Registered User
We have a gh3, it's an amazing camera
Old Jan 28, 2013, 05:54 PM
jeju is offline
Find More Posts by jeju
Registered User
subscribed
Old Jan 28, 2013, 05:58 PM
KKUSA is offline
Find More Posts by KKUSA
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hypam View Post
I think the Maxon Epos controller is the right stuff for this, pretty expensive.
I already asked this before but isnīt this a task for Labview to simulate the hole thing rather than coding at trial and error?
There are cheaper controllers that are suitable. Labview isnt ideal for simulating this either. It would work, but a lot of work involved. Matlab would be more ideal.

Actually, the Thechnosoft controllers can be programmed right in Matlab.

http://www.technosoftmotion.com/prod...in-modules.htm


The AVR/Arduino/ST Driver solution will work just fine though, it just needs better axis feedback.
Old Jan 28, 2013, 09:45 PM
QuadGod is offline
Find More Posts by QuadGod
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by JussiH View Post
our gimbal is designed to put the lens on the exact center of the roll and pitch axises.
Wouldn't it be around the focal point for the tilt axis?
Old Jan 29, 2013, 05:11 AM
JussiH is offline
Find More Posts by JussiH
Friend is a 4 letter word...
JussiH's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuadGod View Post
Wouldn't it be around the focal point for the tilt axis?
Yes, thats an error. Its centered on the roll axis, of course....
Old Jan 29, 2013, 05:21 AM
EndOfDays is offline
Find More Posts by EndOfDays
Registered User
EndOfDays's Avatar
What does that help? If the object is some meters away (with some reasonable optic) the error in the picture is (far) below 1 pixel width. Furthermore you would have to tell the copter, that if he "wobbles" he should to it please around the "optic center" of the cam, otherwise the cam being positioned in "optic center" makes no sense.

If the gimbal is in balance that helps a lot, that the gimbal has to move the cam around itīs optic center is a forum-myth (like many others) in the internet.

best regards
Ferdinand
Old Jan 29, 2013, 05:34 AM
JussiH is offline
Find More Posts by JussiH
Friend is a 4 letter word...
JussiH's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by EndOfDays View Post
What does that help? If the object is some meters away (with some reasonable optic) the error in the picture is (far) below 1 pixel width. Furthermore you would have to tell the copter, that if he "wobbles" he should to it please around the "optic center" of the cam, otherwise the cam being positioned in "optic center" makes no sense.

If the gimbal is in balance that helps a lot, that the gimbal has to move the cam around itīs optic center is a forum-myth (like many others) in the internet.

best regards
Ferdinand
Yes, you are probably right - not that important after all...specially not on a wide FOV cam like the GoPro. I stand corrected


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo Super Simple Gimbal - SSG - KK2.1 & OpenPilot support crezzee Aerial Photography 1672 Jul 01, 2016 06:42 AM
Yippee! Simple Brushless Gimbal Controller--FPV MODEL fpvmodels Multirotor Talk 3396 Dec 26, 2014 07:23 PM
Discussion A very simple camera-gimbal for Gaui 330xs babanan Multirotor Talk 2 Oct 09, 2013 09:46 AM