Jan 21, 2013, 11:13 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Align 450 or Align 450 clones?

Hi i have flown 4 channel coaxials and single blade ones for two years. Recently, i have decided to migrate to the 450 class. As a beginner i will mainly practise hovering, and frequent crashes are expected. Do i need an expensive Align copter? Or are Align clones good enough for me?
to remove ads between posts
Jan 22, 2013, 12:10 AM
Do you know anyone that's familiar with RC helis? If you do, then a clone would be no problem as he can spot anything wrong with it. Like missing screws or ill fitting parts. When i put mine together the mainshaft wouldn't go into the main gear and i didn't know if i was doing it wrong, the missing screws were atleast easier to spot.

Generally tho, watching a clone nosedive into the ground is less heartbreaking than a goblin. And even with the parts i needed to replace, it still came down to half the price of an Align.

A tip. Figure out the maximum amount you're willing to spend on this hobby. And then cut that in half. That's the price of your first heli. The other half will go to maintenance tools and spare parts.
Jan 22, 2013, 12:23 AM
Closed Account
I have had a lot of luck with clones, but would not want to start on them again. All my helis are part clone, and I've discarded the $10 gyro, $10 ESC, $3 cyclic servos, $0.01 flybar head, $0.01 tail.

Good v2/pro clone parts to now: EXI carbon fiber frame sides, HK CF tail boom, battery plate, base plate, skid assembly, and maybe the main and tail bearing holders. The HK bearings are iffy, but I can't resist at four for a buck. They don't go bad all that often.

Good luck!
Jan 22, 2013, 07:39 AM
Fly, crash, rebuild, repeat