Thread Tools
Old Jan 18, 2013, 09:59 AM
makarov132 is offline
Find More Posts by makarov132
Registered User
Help!

(Any) ESC connected to M1 not doesn't calibrate


First, details: I am using 30A turnigy plush ESCs, the KK2.0 (version 1.2), D2830-11 motors and the HK 6ch TX/RX.

I am doing the whole ESC calibration correctly, but whenever I put the throttle down and arm the KK, one motor (M1) doesn't spin. I unplugged the other three and realized that when I hold buttons 1 and 4 on the KK ESC on M1 doesn't seem to register. The ESC just carries on beeping every second (its making me crazy...). When I change the ESC/motor connected to M1, the same thing happens. Please help!

(Also, on a side note, if anyone knows how to use an Arduino as a serial to usb (TTL) converter, a proper [detailed] link or description would make my year ).
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 18, 2013, 03:41 PM
Steveis is offline
Find More Posts by Steveis
AVR Dude
There could be a fault with M1 output. I would copy the M1 setting to M5 in the mixer settings and connect the ESC to M5. You will need to provide 5v to M1 to power the KK2 board. You could do that by connecting an ESC red wire to the centre pin of M1.
Old Jan 18, 2013, 04:18 PM
makarov132 is offline
Find More Posts by makarov132
Registered User
Just to clarify: I would change setting of CH5 to THR: 100, others 71, -71 and 100. (Does that seem about right?). Also, any tips on providing the 5v without pulling the red wire out of the connecter?
Old Jan 18, 2013, 04:29 PM
Steveis is offline
Find More Posts by Steveis
AVR Dude
Yes on the settings. For the 5v to M1, do you have a spare ESC with BEC, a spare BEC or a spare 4 cell pack? Otherwise, pry the plastic case and pop the red lead out.
Old Jan 18, 2013, 04:37 PM
makarov132 is offline
Find More Posts by makarov132
Registered User
Sorry for noob-ness, but could I strip a bit of the red plastic off the wire (a couple centimeters from the connecter) and solder another wire onto the exposed bit, and attach the soldered wire to M1 for the 5V. (It seemed simpler in my head...).
Old Jan 18, 2013, 04:44 PM
makarov132 is offline
Find More Posts by makarov132
Registered User
Woops you replied while I was typing... why would I need a 4 cell pack? The voltage is too high to connect to the kk2.0
Old Jan 18, 2013, 05:01 PM
Steveis is offline
Find More Posts by Steveis
AVR Dude
Quote:
Originally Posted by makarov132 View Post
Woops you replied while I was typing... why would I need a 4 cell pack? The voltage is too high to connect to the kk2.0
An old nicad or NiMH 4 cell pack at 4.8v
Old Jan 18, 2013, 05:02 PM
makarov132 is offline
Find More Posts by makarov132
Registered User
Ok, I'll try that... just curious, (1st time posting on rcgroups) do I somehow credit/award you for helping me? Thanks!
Old Jan 19, 2013, 06:12 AM
makarov132 is offline
Find More Posts by makarov132
Registered User
Thanks so much for the help! If anyone else has the same problem, I found a video detailing how to disconnect the red wire from a servo plug. [URL="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Ri8i5ITI8o"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Ri8i5ITI8o[/U6=g80pRL]


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Can't connect to Wookong-M 1.32 atltv Multirotor Talk 5 Jan 19, 2013 10:43 AM
Wanted body for slash, doesn't have to be perfect! adamssonny007 Cars - Trucks and Parts (FS/W) 0 Jan 07, 2013 09:27 AM
Help! Calibrating ACC not working. FIXED Sandav Multirotor Electronics 3 Jan 05, 2013 09:56 AM