Jan 14, 2013, 01:44 AM
Resistance is futile
Thread OP
Discussion

Maiden flight for my champ

Hey everybody. I just bought a Champ a couple of days ago and took it out for its maiden flight today. This is my first time with a plane. I usually do cars, trucks and boats. I have been practicing on my Realflight system at home on the computer and felt confidant and ready for the real thing. Oh Boy! Was I ever wrong! Real life flight is not like the simulator AT ALL!
I was impressed how easily the plane took off. I hand launched it because the field had really tall grass. (hard to roll on) I flew her for about a minute and a half and lost control while trying to set the trims. She took a nose dive and I pulled her up hard, but there was no response. She hit the ground hard and broke the right wing off at the fuse plate and the prop and spinner were seperated from the fuse as well.
The repairs will be easy and inexpensive, but I learned that once in flight, I should probably throttle back to about the middle when making adjustments.
I read a thread on this board about people having range problems with there stock champs. I am wondering if that is what happened to me. She was pretty far from me when this happened.
Either way, I now know "The walk of shame". LOL I just wanted to share. Thanks for listening and keep em in the air!
Latest blog entry: Spring time changes
to remove ads between posts
Jan 14, 2013, 01:50 AM
No shame brother. You did well. 1.5 minutes is better than most. Now you figured out to cut throttle once airborne. You are on your way. Fly the Sim some more.
Jan 14, 2013, 02:56 AM
Those mirco means to fly at close distance, and you are right, half throttle is good for triming. I just busted my Mini Cessna today.

Edmond
Old Jan 14, 2013, 04:47 AM
biggles uk
A moderator felt this post violated the following rule: Cross-posting. It is temporarily hidden while biggles uk edits it.
Jan 14, 2013, 03:35 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edmond Y