Jan 07, 2013, 06:16 AM
Happy safe flying :-)
Thread OP
Help!

FMS mini t-28 uncontollable

Hi,

I'm new to this thread and wondering if anyone could help.
I bought an fms t-28 mini (800mm) used stock batteries ar600 reciever pn dx6i and added a flaps using micro servos, assembled everything, checked controls, 45mm cg from the front edge sides of main wings- everything seems ok. Went to the field (6mph wind) and hand launch her, flown straight then bank left, straight again then some mini acro loop (100ft high), after that she seems to be uncontrollable, trying hard to gain the balance but its impossible, until I dropped her into the ground. Propeller gone and the motor mount slightly cracked which can be repaired by epoxy I think.
My skill level is a bigginer and would be able to fly my e-flite mig 15 and carbon cub...

Queries are:
- is my cg correct?
- bought a 2 blade prop, easy flyer, is it ok?
- is the stock battery underpowered
- any advice and help would be really great.

Thanks,
Richard
to remove ads between posts
Jan 07, 2013, 08:01 AM
The following thread would be a good place to search, I have their 800mm p47 and it was extremely tail heavy so you might start with cg

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...t=airfield+800
Jan 07, 2013, 10:32 AM
I have 3 friends with these same planes..............none can get them to fly reliabley. Theirs tend to veer to the right when they take off from ground or hand launch. Unfortunately, these planes are really not "beginner" planes. But yes, start with the CG and then check the control surfaces for warping or other irregularities.
Jan 07, 2013, 11:41 AM
Thread OP
Thank you mates for the very useful info. I've flown my e-flite umx mig15 with ease and it's fast & responsive. I thought this fms mini t-28 is better than the other fms warbird. Anyway need to check the cg again and change the propeller to 2 blade.
Jan 07, 2013, 03:53 PM
Redacted per NSA "suggestion"