Thread Tools
Jan 06, 2013, 09:31 PM
Registered User
Discussion

Servo bandwidth


Trying to setup a CopterX gyro and match it to my TR servo.

CopterX options are 1520us 250HZ

1520us 333HZ

760us 400HZ

960us 333HZ

I've read somewhere that if incorrect settings are used the gyro or servo or even both can be destroyed. Do servo manufacturers publish this kind of info?

I've searched for various servo specs, but I've not seen this info included in any specs.


Anyone?

Boowho??
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jan 06, 2013, 11:43 PM
Closed Account
What servo do you have?
Jan 07, 2013, 04:46 AM
A man with too many toys
The gyro settings have to exactly match your servo specifications.
Jan 07, 2013, 12:27 PM
Registered User
omgsales's Avatar
The futaba's is 333Hz in 1500us!
So any servos compatible with Futaba's has the same!
In fact, many servo manufacturer do not know that!
Jan 07, 2013, 02:31 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle777
What servo do you have?
GoTec GS D-9253

It's apparently compatible with the Futaba 9253 which means 1520 and 333

My understanding is that the servo also comes as 760, but unless you have the original packaging there is no way to tell which one you have, since the model numbers are identical and no markings on the servo itself.

Thanks all....

Boowho??
Jan 07, 2013, 03:24 PM
Registered User
War Horse's Avatar
I subscribed to this thread to see if anyone had an answere for your one question, which was " Do servo manufacturers publish this kind of info?" or more precisely , is there some data base for looking up various servo specs of this nature.

Not one of my 20+ servos came with that information. Very frustrating indeed
Jan 07, 2013, 04:16 PM
WOS
WOS
Registered User
A good point!
Can everyone list their favorite servo database other than www.servodatabase.com?
Jan 07, 2013, 04:21 PM
Registered User
mmracecars's Avatar

goteck servo


http://goteckrc.com/download.asp
Jan 07, 2013, 06:54 PM
Closed Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by boowho
GoTec GS D-9253

It's apparently compatible with the Futaba 9253 which means 1520 and 333

My understanding is that the servo also comes as 760, but unless you have the original packaging there is no way to tell which one you have, since the model numbers are identical and no markings on the servo itself.

Thanks all....

Boowho??
I see your point, it is hard if not impossible to tell the two apart except by experimentation possibly. I don't know of a database myself, sorry.
Jan 07, 2013, 07:07 PM
Registered User
He said its the D version. I figure of the 9257, since 9253 is not listed.
Jan 07, 2013, 07:12 PM
Closed Account
I noticed that, but am not familiar with GoTec other than their one 9257 I've owned. I wasn't sure if it was not included in the list, but available.
Jan 08, 2013, 03:16 PM
Registered User
omgsales's Avatar
In fact, the frequency is not the most important data, so they don't show it !
Any servo maker will bring you a new frequency as they want.
Because the compatiblity is the radio. if your radio has good compatibility, then it works well!
Jan 08, 2013, 05:32 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by omgsales
The futaba's is 333Hz in 1500us!
So any servos compatible with Futaba's has the same!
In fact, many servo manufacturer do not know that!
Not true. Many of their servos that are designed for best Gyro functioning (e.g.S9256 & BLS251) with gyro units that can be used with them will use the shorter 750US bandwith and fast rate of 400Hz.
Jan 08, 2013, 05:34 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by omgsales
In fact, the frequency is not the most important data, so they don't show it !
Any servo maker will bring you a new frequency as they want.
Because the compatiblity is the radio. if your radio has good compatibility, then it works well!
The radio has little to do with the bandwith of the servo used. This selection (e.g. 1520, 960 or 760) is critical in setting for function with various gyros and FBl units.
Jan 08, 2013, 06:19 PM
Registered User
Also, if the frequency is to high the servo motor will get hot. So if the servo is not designed to handle 333hz, the 250hz setting will be better.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Axon - Pictures Attached (not for the bandwidth challenged) Bill K. Parkflyers 38 Dec 17, 2003 03:04 PM
HELP! Exceeded bandwidth. doc-e Webhosting 1 Oct 29, 2003 06:57 AM
RFFS-100 bandwidth? del Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 2 Mar 02, 2003 01:31 AM
switchback construction pics (not for the bandwidth challenged) Martin Hunter Parkflyers 31 Apr 16, 2002 02:42 AM