Thread Tools
Old Jan 06, 2013, 10:31 PM
boowho is offline
Find More Posts by boowho
Registered User
Discussion

Servo bandwidth


Trying to setup a CopterX gyro and match it to my TR servo.

CopterX options are 1520us 250HZ

1520us 333HZ

760us 400HZ

960us 333HZ

I've read somewhere that if incorrect settings are used the gyro or servo or even both can be destroyed. Do servo manufacturers publish this kind of info?

I've searched for various servo specs, but I've not seen this info included in any specs.


Anyone?

Boowho??
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 07, 2013, 12:43 AM
eagle777 is offline
Find More Posts by eagle777
Closed Account
What servo do you have?
Old Jan 07, 2013, 05:46 AM
RC Man is online now
Find More Posts by RC Man
A man with too many toys
The gyro settings have to exactly match your servo specifications.
Old Jan 07, 2013, 01:27 PM
omgsales is offline
Find More Posts by omgsales
Registered User
omgsales's Avatar
The futaba's is 333Hz in 1500us!
So any servos compatible with Futaba's has the same!
In fact, many servo manufacturer do not know that!
Old Jan 07, 2013, 03:31 PM
boowho is offline
Find More Posts by boowho
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle777 View Post
What servo do you have?
GoTec GS D-9253

It's apparently compatible with the Futaba 9253 which means 1520 and 333

My understanding is that the servo also comes as 760, but unless you have the original packaging there is no way to tell which one you have, since the model numbers are identical and no markings on the servo itself.

Thanks all....

Boowho??
Old Jan 07, 2013, 04:24 PM
War Horse is offline
Find More Posts by War Horse
Registered User
War Horse's Avatar
I subscribed to this thread to see if anyone had an answere for your one question, which was " Do servo manufacturers publish this kind of info?" or more precisely , is there some data base for looking up various servo specs of this nature.

Not one of my 20+ servos came with that information. Very frustrating indeed
Old Jan 07, 2013, 05:16 PM
WOS is offline
WOS
Find More Posts by WOS
WOS
Registered User
A good point!
Can everyone list their favorite servo database other than www.servodatabase.com?
Old Jan 07, 2013, 05:21 PM
mmracecars is offline
Find More Posts by mmracecars
Registered User
mmracecars's Avatar

goteck servo


http://goteckrc.com/download.asp
Old Jan 07, 2013, 07:54 PM
eagle777 is offline
Find More Posts by eagle777
Closed Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by boowho View Post
GoTec GS D-9253

It's apparently compatible with the Futaba 9253 which means 1520 and 333

My understanding is that the servo also comes as 760, but unless you have the original packaging there is no way to tell which one you have, since the model numbers are identical and no markings on the servo itself.

Thanks all....

Boowho??
I see your point, it is hard if not impossible to tell the two apart except by experimentation possibly. I don't know of a database myself, sorry.
Old Jan 07, 2013, 08:07 PM
Roto Rob is online now
Find More Posts by Roto Rob
Registered User
He said its the D version. I figure of the 9257, since 9253 is not listed.
Old Jan 07, 2013, 08:12 PM
eagle777 is offline
Find More Posts by eagle777
Closed Account
I noticed that, but am not familiar with GoTec other than their one 9257 I've owned. I wasn't sure if it was not included in the list, but available.
Old Jan 08, 2013, 04:16 PM
omgsales is offline
Find More Posts by omgsales
Registered User
omgsales's Avatar
In fact, the frequency is not the most important data, so they don't show it !
Any servo maker will bring you a new frequency as they want.
Because the compatiblity is the radio. if your radio has good compatibility, then it works well!
Old Jan 08, 2013, 06:32 PM
rotoraddict is offline
Find More Posts by rotoraddict
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by omgsales View Post
The futaba's is 333Hz in 1500us!
So any servos compatible with Futaba's has the same!
In fact, many servo manufacturer do not know that!
Not true. Many of their servos that are designed for best Gyro functioning (e.g.S9256 & BLS251) with gyro units that can be used with them will use the shorter 750US bandwith and fast rate of 400Hz.
Old Jan 08, 2013, 06:34 PM
rotoraddict is offline
Find More Posts by rotoraddict
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by omgsales View Post
In fact, the frequency is not the most important data, so they don't show it !
Any servo maker will bring you a new frequency as they want.
Because the compatiblity is the radio. if your radio has good compatibility, then it works well!
The radio has little to do with the bandwith of the servo used. This selection (e.g. 1520, 960 or 760) is critical in setting for function with various gyros and FBl units.
Old Jan 08, 2013, 07:19 PM
Roto Rob is online now
Find More Posts by Roto Rob
Registered User
Also, if the frequency is to high the servo motor will get hot. So if the servo is not designed to handle 333hz, the 250hz setting will be better.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Axon - Pictures Attached (not for the bandwidth challenged) Bill K. Parkflyers 38 Dec 17, 2003 04:04 PM
HELP! Exceeded bandwidth. doc-e Webhosting 1 Oct 29, 2003 07:57 AM
RFFS-100 bandwidth? del Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 2 Mar 02, 2003 02:31 AM
switchback construction pics (not for the bandwidth challenged) Martin Hunter Parkflyers 31 Apr 16, 2002 03:42 AM