Jan 06, 2013, 12:32 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Naza barometer problems

Anyone had this happen?

I recently purchased a new Naza FC and GPS. This is my third Naza so I have some experience with the programming and flight characteristics of this FC. During my first open area test flight the FC performed very well over asphalt at my local flying field. I then maneuvered over a large field, still basically at a hover, only to observe as the quad shot straight up uncontrollably. I was able to recover and bring it back down to a low hover but it kept wanting to shoot back up.

After landing and a reset I again maintained a low hovered over the asphalt with no issues. I then again flew toward the open field, it had rained the day before. Above the field the quad kept wanting to shoot up over and over but I was able to land again.

The following week I flew in front of my house and it flew perfectly over the asphalt street in front and then just as well over my front yard. Wanting to see if I could reproduce the problem to be certain, I watered my lawn for two minutes and resumed flight. Again it flew well over the street but when I maneuvered over the now wet lawn it shot up as before.

I have two other multi rotor aircraft that run a Naza FC without any issues but they are running fimware version 1.8 as apposed to 2.0 in the new FC. I attempted to revert to 1.8 to see if the problem would desist but was unable to figure out how to do so.

At this point I assume I have received an FC with a bad barometer, or whatever Naza uses to altitude hold , but wanted to see if anyone else out there has had this problem and a possible fix. Also, if anyone knows how to "downgrade" firmware to previous versions just so I can rule it out as the problem I'd love to hear how.

John-
to remove ads between posts
Jan 06, 2013, 12:37 PM
we dont NEED roads!
I have heard of the NAZA being light sensative.