Parkzone's VisionAire - Page 77 - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Feb 11, 2013, 04:29 PM
Registered User
Airdog67's Avatar
Is the recommended 2200 mah batteries working good for you guys
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Feb 11, 2013, 04:31 PM
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
I get 4 minutes on mine but it's cold here right now and I don't know how good my batteries are.
Last edited by zmonster97; Feb 11, 2013 at 05:29 PM.
Feb 11, 2013, 04:41 PM
Registered User
[quote=rlongenecker;24104676]general mode, sport mode, 3d mode? My dx8 is set up with two positions on the gear switch and seems to fly great in either mode. What am i missing?[/quot NOTHING
Feb 11, 2013, 04:43 PM
Gone Huckin'
turnerm's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlongenecker
General Mode, Sport Mode, 3D Mode? My DX8 is set up with two positions on the gear switch and seems to fly great in either mode. What am I missing?
Nothing. Just fly it and be happy!

I will fly mine in 3D mode 100% of the time anyway.
Feb 11, 2013, 04:54 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnerm
Nothing. Just fly it and be happy!

I will fly mine in 3D mode 100% of the time anyway.
U beat me posting ( nothing) LOL i also fly only 3d,,MODE,,too much YAKITY YACK about non issues,,,,,lets go fly,,got 30min untill sunset WOOT WOOT D ale
Feb 11, 2013, 05:06 PM
Can't fly 3D for toffee ...
GoAround's Avatar
I am a relative beginner and even I found general mode with 100% rates absolutely fine. My advice (not worth much, I admit) is to do what most posters above have said and just leave everything at 100% and use the mode switch as advised.
Feb 11, 2013, 05:08 PM
Registered User

Thanks


Quote:
Originally Posted by turnerm
Nothing. Just fly it and be happy!

I will fly mine in 3D mode 100% of the time anyway.
Thanks, guys.
Feb 11, 2013, 05:17 PM
Can't fly 3D for toffee ...
GoAround's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airdog67
Is the recommended 2200 mah batteries working good for you guys
I did 5 minutes till the timer plus about half a minute to get it landed and used only half a battery. This was on first two flights. I hope to get to the stage when 5 minutes uses 80%
Feb 11, 2013, 05:26 PM
Registered User
ChuckTseeker's Avatar
For all the new chums to this great plane, if you can fly your PZ warbirds well i do not think you will have any problem with this plane on it's stated setup

Hey guys even "I" could fly it and yes i was as nervous as before it took off, but once those wheels left the ground i just new this plane was a beauty and nothing to worry about flying it in "Normal" mode. Second trip out and i was using full throws 3D and now turn to 3D 100% as soon as i'm in the air

I own a DX8 and set up the rudder for my 3 position switch DR/Expo here is my set up for anyone interested!

position 0) normal flight 70% 25% position 1) 85% 30% position 2) 100% 40% Ail and elev. On the Rudder i use same for position 0 but straight to 100% for the other 2 slots and half the Expo

Position 0) 3D flight 70% 30% position 1) 85% 35% position 2) 100% 40% again on Rudder i do as above

so that gives me 6 flight modes to choose from, i also assign all my DR/Expo controls to the Rudder Switch as i cannot flick all the switches individually yet and have the flight mode switch as the suggested Gear switch

also on "ALL!" my models i set the Throttle Curve too my Hold! switch and put all values to "0" on one side of the switch thus giving me a Throttle Cut so no accidents can happen when the system is armed, the motor won't work till i hit the switch as said i do this on all my planes as accidents do happen

hope this helps some of the newer people to this sort of plane out

cheers chuck
Last edited by ChuckTseeker; Feb 11, 2013 at 05:32 PM.
Feb 11, 2013, 05:34 PM
Registered User
Mugen4Lfe's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlongenecker
General Mode, Sport Mode, 3D Mode? My DX8 is set up with two positions on the gear switch and seems to fly great in either mode. What am I missing?
There are two flight modes: 3D and Sport. These are chosen when selecting TX type (page 7 of the ar635 manual). However since the default (and the mode that most use) is "3D", that's the mode that's assumed most are using. Now the confusion is that WITHIN the 3D flight mode, there are also two "sub" flight modes: 3D and General Flight (pos 1 and pos 0). Sport mode has "sub" modes Gear up and Gear down (pos 0 and pos 1).
Feb 11, 2013, 05:41 PM
I'd rather be flying!
turboparker's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobly
But sport mode and general mode are two different choices. As I read it, you can't have sport mode with 3d on the gear switch. Only general and 3d. Sport mode is only enabled through programming and has different gain rates. But they do not say anything about travel in sport mode. They say travel is fixed in general and 3d as far as receiver is concerned, but you can underide them with dual rates. According to the chart, the gain is quite a bit higher in sport mode compared to general and on some axis's even 3d.
That's correct. Sport mode is selected via stick programming. Putting the system in 'sport' eliminates the general/3D flight-mode switching that you get in '3D computer' or '3D non-computer' mode, and 'sport' also lets you use all 6 rx channels. You simply set up the gains that you want & that's it. With oversize control surfaces & wild throws, a given set of gains will only be sufficient across a narrow speed envelope. Hence, why you get general & 3D settings on the gear switch when in 3D mode. With normal control-surface sizes & more scale-like throws, one set of gains is usually sufficient across a much broader speed envelope. So, if you were flying a sport-plane, scale ship, warbird, or anything with flaps & retracts, you'd use the 'sport' mode. Regardless of what the actual throw is in 'sport' mode, you'd still establish control-throws by moving the pushrods to different holes on the control horns & servo arms to get the correct control-throws.

Joel
Last edited by turboparker; Feb 11, 2013 at 05:56 PM.
Feb 11, 2013, 05:51 PM
Gone Huckin'
turnerm's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airdog67
Is the recommended 2200 mah batteries working good for you guys
Works great. Per my last video I can confidently say that you get a solid 7 minutes before hitting LVC.

So I'd set the timer for 5:30 minutes.
Feb 11, 2013, 05:59 PM
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnerm
Works great. Per my last video I can confidently say that you get a solid 7 minutes before hitting LVC.

So I'd set the timer for 5:30 minutes.
How? I'm only getting like 4 minutes. Although, my batteries are kind of old and I'm hard on the throttle and it is cold out right now.
Feb 11, 2013, 06:11 PM
Gone Huckin'
turnerm's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by zmonster97
How? I'm only getting like 4 minutes. Although, my batteries are kind of old and I'm hard on the throttle and it is cold out right now.
I was using a brand new stock battery.
Feb 11, 2013, 06:21 PM
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnerm
I was using a brand new stock battery.
I'm using about 2 1/2 yr old turnigy nanotech batteries!


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Parkzone's New Habu 2 EDF ChuckTseeker Foamy EDFs 5060 Jul 10, 2017 11:49 AM
For Sale New Parkzone S.E.5a w/ AR600 Rx - LPU Kevinfred Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Jul 12, 2012 01:26 AM
Sold New Parkzone S.E.5a w/ AR600 Rx - LPU Kevinfred Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Jun 23, 2012 10:10 AM