Thread Tools
Old Jan 12, 2013, 08:27 PM
Luis Moya is offline
Find More Posts by Luis Moya
Registered User
Luis Moya's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by CloudyIFR View Post
I only have version 6.5 so i can't teat it. It only costs time to download it and try it. If you do please report back.

Thanks
Curtis
Fair enough. I'll try it and report back.

Luis
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 13, 2013, 12:41 PM
Fly_electric2 is offline
Find More Posts by Fly_electric2
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luis Moya View Post
Would the gliders in this thread work with version 4.5?

All the best,

Luis [in Mexico]
Lius,

RF planes are backward capable, usually with adjustments.
Planes made under an earlier version of RF often require minor changes to the physics when running under a newer version, due to on going realism changes and improvements to the simulator. RF is not necessarily forward compatible though, so it is "see if it works" on a case by case basis.
While I started with ver 6.0 last spring, I understand from others on the KE forum there have been many improvements over the years, so upgrading to 6.5 would be the best choice. Upgrades are less money than buying a new copy of RF with it's USB Tx. However, if you've worn out the sticks on your present RF Tx, then that may be a reason for you to consider buying 6.5.

Please keep us informed as to how the gliders work for you with 4.5.
Old Jan 14, 2013, 10:45 AM
Vrated is offline
Find More Posts by Vrated
Registered User
Vrated's Avatar
I have been flying many of the custom model gliders from the Knifeedge swap pages (between g3 through g6.5). I have put tow hooks on all of them it seems they are originally set up for hand launch in the swap pages. I really like the big "Maxim High liner" The bungee is a little on the weak side for this big glider. Is there a way to hop up the bungee so I can get a better launch for the Maxim High liner Glider?
Old Jan 14, 2013, 06:28 PM
Curtis Suter is offline
Find More Posts by Curtis Suter
Red Merle ALES
Curtis Suter's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vrated View Post
I have been flying many of the custom model gliders from the Knifeedge swap pages (between g3 through g6.5). I have put tow hooks on all of them it seems they are originally set up for hand launch in the swap pages. I really like the big "Maxim High liner" The bungee is a little on the weak side for this big glider. Is there a way to hop up the bungee so I can get a better launch for the Maxim High liner Glider?
Go to the "Environment" menu and select Edit Thermal Park or whatever airport is there. You'll get four windows that open up. In the photo below you want to select in the "Folding Listing" window "Control Objects" and "Bungee Anchor". Then in the "Properties" window you'll see at the bottom "Rubber Portion Percentage" and "Maximum Distance". Change those and you'll get a higher launch.

I'm glad you're having fun!
Curtis
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:48 AM
DZM is offline
DZM
Find More Posts by DZM
DZM
Registered User
DZM's Avatar
Have problem no "Bungee Anchor"
Old Jan 15, 2013, 08:08 AM
Curtis Suter is offline
Find More Posts by Curtis Suter
Red Merle ALES
Curtis Suter's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by DZM View Post
Have problem no "Bungee Anchor"
Huh? You could either try downloading the file again as something didn't go right. Oh, are you using ver 6.5? If that matter, not sure.

Or you can add a Bungee yourself.
Select "Control Objects" in the "Folder Listing" window.
Then in the "Object Pallet" window select "RealFlight 6.5" then click the + sign by "Control Objects" and finally "Bungee Anchor". Click Add and then you'll see the Bungee Anchor in the Folder Listing.

Curtis
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:04 PM
DZM is offline
DZM
Find More Posts by DZM
DZM
Registered User
DZM's Avatar
Bad for me i got only G4.5
Old Jan 15, 2013, 04:10 PM
rc4fun is offline
Find More Posts by rc4fun
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by DZM View Post
Bad for me i got only G4.5
Not so bad you can get the upgrade version of RF6 for a lot less than the full version.
http://www.atlantahobby.com/Store/pc...dproduct=13555
Old Jan 15, 2013, 06:01 PM
Vrated is offline
Find More Posts by Vrated
Registered User
Vrated's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by CloudyIFR View Post
Go to the "Environment" menu and select Edit Thermal Park or whatever airport is there. You'll get four windows that open up. In the photo below you want to select in the "Folding Listing" window "Control Objects" and "Bungee Anchor". Then in the "Properties" window you'll see at the bottom "Rubber Portion Percentage" and "Maximum Distance". Change those and you'll get a higher launch.

I'm glad you're having fun!
Curtis
Thanks, That works good for the High liner Maxim.
Old Jan 15, 2013, 06:24 PM
Trisquire is offline
Find More Posts by Trisquire
Intermediate Multi
Trisquire's Avatar
Has anyone made a virtual Bubble Dancer or similar?
Last edited by Trisquire; Jan 16, 2013 at 06:18 AM.
Old Jan 15, 2013, 08:35 PM
DeadServo is offline
Find More Posts by DeadServo
Registered User
Any idea why my session keeps resetting right after launch? I will launch.. and right at the height of the launch I will level off and then it resets. Doesnt seem to be dependent on height though.. seems like something is not set right ... but I have no idea what.

Super frustrating though.

Edit... just discovered if I touch NOTHING.. it wont reset.. but I wanted to pull up like a dlg launch... ugh.

Edit #2 ... seems to be related to reaching a preset Stall speed. Which I am not sure I can change.. because the stall speed set (if thats the case) is way too fast.
Old Jan 15, 2013, 09:34 PM
Curtis Suter is offline
Find More Posts by Curtis Suter
Red Merle ALES
Curtis Suter's Avatar
DeadServo,
I would try rebooting if you have not done so as I have had some weird issues too and that has solved them.

Curtis
Old Jan 16, 2013, 12:41 PM
DeadServo is offline
Find More Posts by DeadServo
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by CloudyIFR View Post
DeadServo,
I would try rebooting if you have not done so as I have had some weird issues too and that has solved them.

Curtis
This is a problem I have had for a long time it is unfortunately not specific to your files.

It seems to be related to a faulty controller as everything works great until I validate my controller.

Anyhow I have written to real flight and I am sure they will fix the issue.
Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:55 AM
georgeg is offline
Find More Posts by georgeg
Registered User
OK, you convinced me. I broke down and bought RF 6.5. I've made two flights so far with the RF-97. Its a good flyer, launched by aerotow. Now, if I could just figure out how to release the towplane! Anyway, I haven't crashed it yet. (Not sure what happens to the towplane, tho!) Tonight, I'll download your stuff and give it a try.



Quote:
Originally Posted by CloudyIFR View Post
Hey George, how are ya!?

Yep, I am having fun with it in the cold Montana winter.
I happen to be passionate about most things I do and enjoy sharing them too.

Curtis
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 18, 2013, 08:19 PM
doc993 is offline
Find More Posts by doc993
Registered User
doc993's Avatar
Hi all. Curtis removing the arrows produced good flights.Much better.
Does red merl really fly that good?If so I think I found next winters project.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Real Flight 4.5 SIM w/ Real Flight 6 upgrade cjdscratch Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 1 Jul 18, 2012 08:54 AM
Discussion From Real Flight to a Real Flight - GP Silhouette on Floats Jake at the Lake Waterplanes 3 May 16, 2012 01:14 PM
For Sale or trade Real Flight Simulator Controller W/JR Patch Cord Real Flight Simulator Contr donho1 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Apr 29, 2012 02:18 PM
Discussion Thermal Soaring Training DVDs: Great Deal! Paul Naton Thermal 1 Apr 12, 2012 10:27 AM
Sold Real Flight G3.5 plus real flight G5 upgrade plus add ons sagomon Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 1 Mar 13, 2012 09:00 PM