Dec 26, 2012, 11:50 PM
It's a fine fiddly business.
Thread OP
Build Log

65 inch Boeing 247 inspired by Cleveland Plans and First Flight

The Boeing 247 has been on my “to build” list for about 15 years. I really like it's art deco good looks.
I also like that it is not “over modeled.” 2013 is the year when I am actually going to start building.

My plans are as follows
1. I want to keep my hobby in perspective. Model aircraft are a very enjoyable cherry on the cupcake of life. Often times I get over absorbed in my model airplane projects. Hopefully I will achieve the goal of “proper perspective” on the 247 project.
2. I will take my time. I expect I will spend two years on this project. I am a famously slow builder. It took me 10 months to finish the excellently designed and quite complete Dumas/Tritle Dragon Rapide kit https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1650419 . Experience gained on the Rapide will really help on this build, but there are still a lot of decisions to make and I am slow. Two years might be optimistic.
3. I will use the Tritle design philosophy of light weight and scale flight appearance first and scale fidelity second.
4. I don't expect that I will post more than once a week. There probably will not be enough progress to justify more frequent updates.

Resources: